You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Music of the Day: Elgar's Enigma Variations

in #steempress5 years ago

Taking the subject in a broader view I have always been a huge fan of variations on a theme in general. So interesting to see how a common thread can be elaborated into so many different forms, and in a way it gives you more insight into a composer's mind than listening to a bunch of disparate compositions.

Great review of the enigma variations, and thanks for this because now I have some awesome music playing while I putter about my morning chores. Somehow I had missed that you had this other account, will be trying to keep up on your reviews here now :)

Sort:  

I'm not always a fan of collected variations, but I do enjoy some of them; Philip Glass's Metamorphosis is an example of a really interesting take on it, and one of the few works by Glass that I can say I profoundly enjoy.

Yeah, I've sort of shifted a lot of my reviews and stuff here so that I can keep the @loreshapergames account on-brand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66