How I voted in Hackernoon's Noonies Award

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)


Preface: This post will be disclosure of who voted as well as a sharing of Hackernoon Noonies itself. Feel free to vote using the link here.

Hackernoon's Noonies Award real quick: Tech magazine Hackernoon is running their inaugural tech industry awards - a community voted to bring awareness to amazing startups and people working in the tech space.

Being very much in the tech space, and a Hackernoon supporter, I just had to vote.

Here's what I voted and what I think about the Award.

Tech (General)

Most Exciting Startup

2019 is replete with exciting startups that have what it takes to change the way we do stuff online. Of the list, I chose Publish0x because...

it's obvious! Publish0x puts a spin to an established Steemit.com (not Steem the blockchain) in that rewards are paid not from token inflation but from existing tokens.

So instead of having their own native token, Publish0x relies on a stream of sponsors to supply the liquidity of reward pool. In other words; if you are a new token project and is looking to airdrop the coins to an existing group of real human users, Publish0x is for you! I just think that is real smart and plays a balanced game theory to make it sustainable.

Bait and Switch Award

Fuck Medium. You heard me.

Medium started as a "place free of censorship where users can write and read stuff". And i get it, companies need to make money. That being said, holy hell, the Paywall thing is disgusting.

I'm not a rich white guy. $5 is actually a lot of money for me to spend just so I can read "5 Investment Rules Millennial Should Follow To Build Long-Term Wealth"

It does put a smile on my face that even as of 2019, Medium is still not making money. What they are doing right now is simply not sustainable.

Social Media of the Year

Hackernoon Noonies Award Best Social Media Steemit Facebook Twitter Gab

This is without a doubt an easy choice for me.

That being said, Gab.com is a close second. I love the Dissenter extension, If a website removes their comment section? Hah!

While I am all for supporting every netizen's God-given to sling shit on the Internet, I'm also a big fan of Crypto. So Steemit is still number 1 for me.

Best Open Source Project

This is easy for me. If you're reading this, I implore you to vote for Bitcoin as the Best Open Source Project too!

The repercussion of a network protocol and governance model made possible with the Bitcoin Network has not been fully understood and fully explored. Mark my words though, Bitcoin represents a turning point of the Internet if not modern civilization as we know it.

Crypto

Blockchain of the Year

No blockchain network has rivaled Bitcoin so far. There is no argument about it.

Bitcoin is not just "internet money", not just a payment network. When you've dug into the rabbit hole and understood the beauty of the Bitcoin Network, the intricacy of each moving parts and how literally no single party will ever "control" the network without the consent of everyone else, you tend to find yourself being a "toxic maximalist".

Bitcoin is a role model of how society can and should be run. As I've said, we've not fully explored and understood what bitcoin can and will offer to humanity.

Simply no other blockchain has shown the beauty and wonder to the level that Bitcoin has now.

Best Whitepaper

Do I sound like a broken record?

Hear me out...

9 short pages, straight to the point, mind blowing... These are some few description of the Bitcoin Whitepaper.

Whitepapers should convey their messages concisely, no jargons, no BS, and take as short a time to read as possible. It's a whitepaper, not a legal document or a brochure. Other projects take note. Learn from Satoshi.

The Zero Authentication Factor Award for Un-Security

Alternatively... Lol Rekt

There's only Mt.Gox at this point. Do you know that Mt.Gox technically isn't even a crypto exchange? It's literally in the name - Magic The Gathering Online eXchange, hence MtGox.

It's not even the first website to allow users to trade bitcoin. That award goes to NewLibertyStandard (caveat: no one picked up in the offer)

Basically, if you can't afford to lose your cryptocurrency, Don't Fucking Put Them In Exchanges!

People

Best Crypto Analyst

I'm not really the trader type. So my opinion may not be the most authoritative around.

I got introduced to PlanB by Mr. Guillaume Cardinal (@teamsteem on Steem) who explained to me about how Bitcoin's Stock to Flow ratio makes it the ONE financial asset everyone must own before it's too late for the average person.

Basically, the only chart you need to look at as a bitcoin investor is the Bitcoin Stock to Flow Ratio.

I highly recommend you to read his blog Modeling Bitcoin's Value with Scarcity.

Best Bitcoin Shill

No one can stop the Pomp!

Some of his bitcoin shill is so ridiculous people make memes about it.

Ever doubt your bitcoin holdings? Just follow him on Twitter and I promise you'll be Pomped day after the day!

Most Toxic Maximalist

My choice is a lil out of the ordinary on this. While Pierre Rochard is the de-facto top maximalist, I think Francis Pouliot is the better Maximalist because of memes.

Memes is the new and nest Psy Ops weapon. I think the best Maximalists should be well versed on the art of memes.

#Cryptotwitter MVP

Cryptotwitter Noonies

I'm kinda torn on this.

There is no doubt @aantonop is bitcoin's MVP, he is the voice of reason and enlightenment, I listen to his videos before I sleep, the one who should have held the title "Bitcoin Jesus".

But... @holdonaut made the LN Torch, which inspired many other torches in other blockchains.

Not to mention that week when #WeAreAllHodlonaut.

Memes and Events

Crypto Buzzword

2018's Buzzword was "Blockchain". If you joined enough suit-and-tie crypto events and back then, you know what I meant. One can puke over how much that word got overused and taken out of context.

This year though, there's no doubt the buzzword is the "M" word.

Disagree with any shitcoin peddler and that's your label for the rest of your life - no exception. I'm sure "Bitcoin Maximalists" all over the world are wearing that label as a badge of honour though.

Most Defining Crypto Moment

Libra. Blergh.

Still, we can't ignore the effect of Facebook in getting people to ask more question about "the crypto thing". Facebook in one fell swoop has done more to spread the crypto gospel (unintentionally) than all other crypto projects COMBINED.

We even found ourselves a new ally in CNBC because of Libra!

Crypto Name Drop

I love Silicon Valley, even before Gilfoyle started talking bitcoin.

As a show that appeals to tech people, Silicon Valley did a perfect spin on Crypto and ICO - back when it was still a thing. It was really fun to watch a show that has so much crypto screentime and comedy.

Best Crypto Rap

This one kinda pissed me off.

Everyone knows that the best Crypto Song of 2019 is All Time Low by @thecryptobubble. Take a listen!

That's about it

There's obvious a lot more categories you can vote on.

The Noonies vote ends on August 16, so make sure you've already voted your favourite guys before time runs out!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://kristiankho.com/hackernoon-noonies-2019/

image.png


My New Website!!!

The cheapest hosting plan to build your Personal Website!!


I am a part of #Teammalaysia, a decentralized community initiative that aims to empower local creatives and content creators specifically in Malaysia to create content through the Steem Blockchain.

If you want to stalk me, check out my other social media accounts too!

Sort:  

I'm gonna ride my alt 😂 I love it.. Great votes here, you've provided me with a couple things to look into.. Silicon Valley is one of my all time favorites and having had lived amongst those personalities in the Bay Area I find it all the more hilarious.. It's dead on the money...

Posted using Partiko Android

Woah, didn't know you used to lived in the Bay Area! Yea Silicon Valley counts among my top favorite HBO show.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post has been manually curated by (Ian) Kristian

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75