You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Opal Mining Adventure - Comedy Open Mic Round 27

in #steempress6 years ago

I found this post through @geopolis and am delighted I did. You made the expedition vivid through your photos and your description--so vivid I'm really glad I wasn't there. The bit about the bear was funny, but kind of scary. And the piece about the fire was sad, and startling, that you should witness the beginning of that. Witness to history indeed.

When I was a young child, my brothers used to lead me through the forest by our house. This was in the foothills of the Shawangunks. As I recall there were cliffs and swamps and tall grasses over my head. Certainly untamed. I was a reluctant adventurer back then. Your piece reminds my why I was :)

Sort:  

I'm really glad you liked it. Thanks for the reply.

I've been through the Shawangunk area a few times when I was trucking out of Ontario and through the eastern states. It's a pretty area, if I remember correctly. Not a lot of people.

No. Not a lot of people :) That pretty much sums up my early childhood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29