Things I've bought using STEEM

in #steempres6 years ago

february (1).png

Living in the virtual crypto world too long and sometimes we forget the actual purpose of cryptocurrencies, to actually use it for buying services or products.

I've been participating in the space for mlre than a year now. Other than coin-to-coin trading, is the list of things that I've purchased via coins, mainly in Steem of course:

  • VPS service from @privex. I'm on the most basic 8 USD plan for the third month and I must say I'm a happy customer with the server's stability. This service is priced at USD but converted to crypto amount during checkout. They only receive crypto such as BTC, LTC, STEEM/SBD.
  • Burger, the real edible burger! Absolutely amazing feeling feeding my stomach with some virtual digital STEEM! If you ever bought food using crypto you will know what I'm talking about: https://steemit.com/steem/@fr3eze/feeding-my-stomach-with-steem-for-the-first-time

  • Graphic design service for a logo. I managed to hunt down a talented designer @ggabogarcia to design a complete Steem profile for my sub account @zocken which is focusing on sharing gaming content. This is how I did it and you may proceed to the @zocken for to see the result for yourselve. Paying SBD for awesome service like this feels unreal indeed!

  • Paid for food a couple of time after Steem meet-up with SBD. Things has became easier if the group have something in common to believe. One person settle the bill for the table with credit card, and the rest pays him with STEEM/SBD. Simple as that.

  • Bought a Trezor hardware wallet with BTC This is literally my first time of paying crypto for physical product for the first time. Though I spend the precious BTC right before the boom of December 2017, that was a pleasure shopping experience.

Guess I have been paying STEEM for more stuff such as buying virtual items like SteemMonster card packs and playing dice games in the SteemDice. Both are purely for entertainment purpose so I would not rather count them as buying real value product with the money.

All in all, it feels great and practical to be able to actually spend the coins I'm earning everyday. This alone spells the greatest value of a cryptocurrency to me and I shall keep looking for new ways for its usage.

What had you bought with crypto?


TLDR: Paid VPS, burger, graphic design service and a couples of other stuff using STEEM/SBD and it feels great.

太长没读: 这些日子,用过 STEEM/SBD 买了 VPS,logo 设计服务,食物等等真实世界的东西,感觉好极了。你有买过什么吗?





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fr3eze.vornix.blog/things-ive-bought-using-steem/

Sort:  

@fr3eze
Actually i Never thought so far of spending crypto for physical items.

  • Don’t get Me wrong! I see nothing wrong With that, But as many other people I am speculating on an increase in the crypto much more. I see its cheeper to buy physical things With Fiat than with crypto.
  • For any given crypto coin to be really spendable for physical items. Or rather on a daily basis. it must be not only stable /pegged to USD ( so Never to specukate on keeping it, e.g SBD) but also to gain some profit from spending it
  • I wish the inflation of steem to happen on spending the SBD. Yes, for example, if I keep SBD, it stays the same, But if I spend it i get 0,1 steem or so back into My wallet after 30 Days or so!
  • Seems it is the only and biggest incentive to spend a coin is to get back some monatry incentive to do so.
    IMO

I get it and most of the time I think the same way as you do. Keep those coins as much as I could while hoping all of them to moon. However on the other hand I get to realise the power of these coins by actually spending them for goods I could have bought with fiat. Feels definitely awesome.

Understand you .. I can Imagine i can do this some day With friends as a kind of fun :) ... But not on daily basis lol
Keep rockin & have fun @fr3eze
😀😎😃🎈

Not yet..but will use it when neccessary..haha..

Try to make use of it you will find more motivation in earning more Steem.

okok..thanks for sharing!:)

我用比特币买了进入一个TG群组的会员,用ETH买了Steam游戏

这也算很不错啊,应该是人家帮你买了再寄给你吧?

嗯,是的,平常都是将ETH给买了,然后换钱 :P

Steemmonster card....
bought quite a lot... seem useless still
LOL

Could not say useless but I will treat it as investment or entertainment. You should try to buy something that could be bought with fiat, it will gives you different perspective on what this coin can do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44