POWER UP!!! How to do it, Why I did, and Why You Should Too!

in #steempower7 years ago

SP18.jpg

Hello Steemit Friends!

I just turned a month old here in Steemit. Through the help and support of steemians like you, I have been awarded author rewards which gave my account 14.429 SBD. I have decided to use this to purchase Steempower for a few reasons.

I get frustrated when my vote amounts to literary nothing

I hate seeing that $0.00 hasn't changed after I clicked the ^ upvote button. It's embarassing that I wasn't able to contribute anything to make something that I enjoyed reading amount to something more.

There are also times when I encounter a post about a cause which I would like to support and my heart sinks seeing that I wasn't really able to support it because my Steem Power is not enough.

I want to return the favor

I was into my third week in Steemit and I was already getting discouraged at the appreciation my posts were getting when @surpassinggoogle upvoted and left a comment on a post I made that day. That post was valued at roughly $10. But more than the upvote, it was his comment appreciating the effort I put into it that really struck me. I decided that from then on, I will work harder on my posts, give it more "meat", spend more time and rack my brains to contribute something that will count. A day before my account turned 1 month old, I posted another blog about a new place that my family and I discovered. It got me 31 views, roughly $23 and all the comments left were very appreciative of my material. I was ecstatic. It affirmed my decision to put my heart into my writing.

Right now, @surpassinggoogle is working with friends like @pinaynomad to introduce more people to steemit. They want to make Steemit bigger and better. They will be talking to students in a University in Baguio and when those students sign up for an account and start blogging away, they will need more steemians like @surpassinggoogle who will appreciate their work and show them that their hardwork is worth something here. The steempower I have in my account is still not much even after my power up but it will have to do for now. At the very least, I can tell myselft that I did what I can.

Please know that I'm not trying to paint myself as a saint by wanting to help. Steemit is an AMAZING platform. The people behind its creation designed it to be a place where you get more by giving - not by taking - and they are so brilliant that it actually works that way. Helping others by upvoting and giving their work the credit they deserve is still something that would benefit you through curation; and It's not like you're giving away money because Steemit "pays" you back when you spend your Steem Power for upvoting a post by refilling your Steem Power after a certain amount of time.

I am an investor

I believe in the potential of this platform, in the potential of Steem. If the value of my votes can push Steem - even if just for an inch - towards the moon, I will do it.

So Today I Learned how to use my SBDs to purchase Steem Power and, if for any reason you want to do the same, you can follow the steps below:

HOW TO POWER UP USING SBDs IN YOUR WALLET

1. Go to your wallet and Click 'BUY STEEM OR STEEM POWER'

SP16.PNG


2. You will be directed to the BLOCKTRADES website, create an accout by clicking 'Sign Up' and provide an email address and password that you will be using to log in to the account in the future

SP3.PNG

NOTE: an email will be sent to the email address you provided prompting you for verification. Just click on the link provided in that email. You will automatically be logged in the Blocktrade website after verification


3. Go back to the blocktrade website where you've been automatically logged in after verifying your email address. You can then choose from the 'Send' and 'Receive' dropdowns. Select STEEM DOLLARS from 'Send' and STEEM POWER from 'Recieve' dropdowns

SP4.PNG


4. Under 'Steem Dollar', enter the amount of SBD you would like to convert to STEEM POWER. The website will automatically convert it and show you the amount of STEEM POWER your SBD is worth

SP5.PNG


5. Make sure you have the correct username under 'Your Receive Address', which automatically appears there. Then click 'Get Deposit Address'

SP6.PNG

6. You will then get this message
SP8.PNG


7. Go back to your wallet. Click the dropdown icon beside the amount of your Steem Dollars then select 'Transfer'

SP17.PNG


8. A pop up screen will appear. Fill out the form based on the message you got from Blocktrades in Step No. 6 then click 'Submit'

SP10.PNG

SP11.PNG


9. The Steemit system will ask you to sign in to proceed. Provide your password and click 'Sign In'

SP12.PNG


Within seconds you will receive notifications in your wallet about the transaction with Blocktrade and within minutes, you will receive your Steem Power.

SP13.PNG

SP14.PNG


9 You're Steem Power will then be available to your account so you can start using them!

SP15.PNG

Sort:  

Omg!

I was just about to make a post on this exact subject! One month tomorrow for me and $15 transferred over to steem power!

My transfer took 4 seconds! Now of I could only get some of my usd in there as easily!

Excellent work. I am sure you will do very well with all the students.

Thank you and congratulations on your first month here in Steemit!

This is awesome and you know it. It is also a good time to power up considering that sbd is around 1$ among other things!

That's true! @steemitph and I are just waiting for a good entry to buy bitcoins we can buy SteemPower with. 😊

Thank you! 😊

I've used the dip in the value of the currency to load up on STEEM using bitcoin and ethereum from my bittrex account and then exchange for STEEM and deposit through Blocktrades. I've put over $1k in the past month and my upvote is worth about $0.22 at full power.

It's nice to be able to give back. I completely understand. I've been taking 100% powerup on my of my payouts because I'm in this for the long term. Having steem power is great because you can get paid for procuring content. Self voting is also an option for getting paid dividends on your investment. I usually give out 10 votes at least for each time I vote on one of my own posts. Most of the whales upvote their own stuff between 20 and 90% of their upvotes (@jerrybanfield did a post about this, gotta love the transparency here!). His post is https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/self-upvoting-by-the-top-100-authors-on-steem

I like to try and support newer users who post good content and also people I follow and identify with their content.

I was very frustrated when my vote was a penny or two as well. That's why I put my own money in. I'm fortunate enough to have been able to put that much in. I can afford to lose it all if worse comes to worse.

Good luck to you. You've chosen a wise path IMO. Upvoted.

Good points! I will check that post by @jerrybanfield. And yes, only invest something you can afford to lose.

Would love to power up, but living on that government cheese as it is : )

I understand there are times when investing on this (or on anything) is not an option. That is why it's enough that we do what we can.

Thank you for explaining

Hi dandalion! :) heh, I should've looked at this post sooner. I just 'transfered' some sbd to steem in my wallet, so i can later transfer that to my SP. :P takes longer that way. I though the blocktrades was just for buying steem. not for SP, and just from an outside source like coins.ph. thanks for educating me.

Thanks for educating us..
Following u now.....:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50