Steem Poetry Slam Challenge Entry: Aston Martin

in #steempoetryslam8 years ago (edited)

I choose rap as a form of poetry. Please enjoy my entry.
Respect and many thanks for @prufarchy for the Steem Poetry Slam Challenge, please check his page for details.
Today, the 9th of September, is the last day to enter and post your entry.
Good luck to everyone.


Aston Martin
by Verbal D

Verse 1:
I don’t need an Aston Martin
And even if I had one, I live in the city with no parkin’
I can’t afford one, I’m looking for a bargain
Have enough trouble buying food and milk cartons

Nothing in my wallet…
I’m dried out like a rusted kitchen sink
Broken down with no faucet
I’m a child of God, but I’m far from a prophet
Money like an organization
Non profit

Walk into a bank
With nothing to deposit
Life's not a game
Too bad you can’t pause it
Old tattered shoes, battered, used, worn, torn clothes
Are the only things coming out my closet

But that’s okay, cause I am still walkin’
Blessed with two legs, that speak without talkin’
All about music, I’m more than a walkman
Lyrical hitman, beats will take caution

Still got soul, never railroad crossing
Never made a deal, I’ll never sell it at an auction
Gotta stay strong, even though it’s exhausting
Cold world still, and my body’s defrosting

Can’t sleep well, in my bed I’m still tossing
Still got dreams with nightmares accosting
World World Infinite, high fares are costing
Greed is the poison, be the antitoxin

We are not done, we’ve got too many options
We are all one, don’t be sheep or oxen
They want us all boxed in...
Then they teach us every man for themselves
Like we are all boxing

They wanna spread drugs, and lethal concoctions
Tryna stay clean, we breathe all these toxins
Keep your heart pure, don’t feed body rotten
Gotta spread love, don’t need Oxycotin

Transition:
Some folks take pride calling themselves Martians
That’s because they alienate the rest of the world
Teaching the hate to the boys and girls

They have us swimming in the dark
Pursuing illuminated sparks
And now we’re drowning for a poisoned pearl

We’re knee deep, can’t dry off with a towel
We keep on going in circles just like a boat with one paddle
Cause even if we swim where the water is shallow
So Are the people in power, and we get hung in their gallows…

Verse 2:
I don’t want an Aston Martin
I push more rhymes, than them horses in an Aston Martin
I kill more beats than a Master Spartan
My imagination helps create my lyrical jargon

Cause even if I’m joggin’
The ninety nine percent in this rat race
Are last place, thanks to the margin...
Families are starvin’
Hunger is a knife, into the body it’s carving
We need more fiber than carbon

Why can’t we ever have access to free food?
Is the war money gone? Is that’s why they’re chargin’?
Living off credit, with no consensual pardons
They’ve gambled with our lives, as we put all our cards in

Trying to live right, Not concerned with a car, man
To live a long life, we need a meal that’ll hearten…
...So where’s the vegetable garden?
...Is there any leftover farming?

Get something to drink, but not from any bar, man
Water is essential, never something too harming
People on the streets turn cold, body hardens
Left on the ground, is that a vegetable garden?

People paralyzed, fiscally ill-advised
Another death version to be televised
No GMO’s sterilized, people terrified, terrorized
With no other choices that are clarified

They hope we won’t resist
They say no hope exists
But we must grow, persist
If our survival is rarified

Makes moves
Stand tall but not petrified
Say we will fail?
But that isn’t verified!

…Achieve independence like Paraguay
Be open minded,
Not inside their paradigms

To change one life for the better
I would weather every challenge
Make a difference for the balance
I would dare to die

Sort:  

I like this part a lot ---
To change one life for the better
I would weather every challenge

Thank you for taking time out your day to read my poem. That's one of my favorite set of lines. When you speak from the heart with positive intentions, only good can come from it. You and I both are parents so to be a role model is our first instinct and goal.

I love the fact that you choose this as a rap. You´ll bring rap on another level because your words are very deep. Well done !

I could have sworn I replied to this comment lol my apologies @soldier
Thank you for your words of encouragement once again, I really do appreciate your support and yes, I aim to bring rap to another level of my own. It doesn't matter how many people do what you do in life, no one will ever be able to do it exactly the way you can with the same intentions and meaningfulness. Let's keep pushing forward. :)

Lyrical hitman, indeed you are. Power packed rhymes, you can feel the rhythm as you read through it. Best of luck to you.

Thank you for your kind words and wishing me luck. Appreciate it. Rhythm and non-cliche rhymes are very important to my writing style.

This is an impressive piece, and I'm glad you chose to present it as a rap. Too much to relate to in this man, thanks for participating

Thank you for the support and your time. And big thanks for creating the opportunity for all of us poets to write and share our deepest creative thoughts. Big respect and acknowledgement. I take this poem to heart as it reflects a lot of turmoil that is happening in the world, and I aim to be a positive influence to all who come into in range.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36