STEEM PLANTS CONTEST: Lettuce

in #steemplants3 years ago

Greetings to all Steemit plants enthusiasts and most heartfelt thankyou to @knopka145 for arranging this contest. I’m so happy to contribute my excitement over the plant’s kingdom. Hopefully, you’ll enjoy my contribution and get a somewhat different view on the topic of the plants.

InShot_20210421_123054580.jpg

For this contest, I want to focus on the glorious greens everyone loves to eat, lettuce. It is possible you’ll consider my choice humble, but in truth, lettuce is a cute plant and it makes every meal better. Its crunchiness and mild flavor can be incorporated into numerous dishes, not just plain old salad.

IMG_20210419_152907.jpg

Then it also looks stunning if you plant a vibrant salad mix. So, what do I have to share with you about the lettuce?
IMG_20210421_122520.jpg
I have been growing my own vegetables for the past two years and I couldn’t be happier with the result. Lettuce is a quickly growing crop that keeps growing even if it gets attacked by slugs or aphids. Naturally, invasion is one story while an occasional attack is another. Actually, a few punches here and there make it even tastier! I guess all the fighting makes lettuce stronger. In fact, the more troubles vegetable faces the stronger it gets or as science puts it; the formation of secondary metabolites. Let’s not forget the “fresh is the best” moto, which is true nutrition, texture, and flavor-wise.

IMG_20210419_153534.jpg

Lettuce has gorgeous foliage and it is interesting to see it transform from the leaves to the seeds. Sadly, that happened last year and I don't have a photo. Now I can show you just the "babies" the parent plant left behind. Maybe a little mystery is a good thing for a bit of motivation for growing your salad in your yard or windowsill. If not, I hope you enjoyed this short read and learned something new.

IMG_20210419_152921.jpg

Sort:  

Hey! I like your choice of object of observation))) and I like the salad! its benefits cannot be overestimated, besides, it is very tasty))) Thank you for your participation)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81