Steemians Unite - My first Steemit Philippines caravan experience

in #steemph6 years ago

As a developer, meetups is important to level-up your career or improve more on your skills. Having years of experience in the development / programmer world, I have attended many meetups and workshops. Some of the workshops involved Project Management, Mobile Development, Game Development and Coding competitions. 

Thanks to DevCon Philippines, such events were made possible and mostly FREE :) 

But recently, I have become more interested in the Cryptocurrency world and how to increase my understanding of it and consequently, how to earn more; as they say "To the moon!"

More particularly is the Steemit platform - a social media platform born out of Steem - a similar cryptocurrency like that of Bitcoin that uses Blockchain as well. 

BIRDS OF THE SAME FEATHER FLOCK TOGETHER

As my interest on Steemit grew, my desire to join it grew as well. After successfully registering (as you may have read on my #introduceyourself post) and creating my first blog, my desire to learn more dramatically increased as well. Heck! My time on other social media platforms (namely Facebook) dramatically decreased as I spend more time learning more about Steemit on chat groups and on the Steemit platform itself. 

Fortunately, though not yet a week into Steemit, I found that there is a nearby Steemit Meetup ( which I will soon realize is a Steemit University caravan for students who might be interested to join ). 

D-DAY

MORNING

The Steemit Meetup day has arrived. Though I have been to many meetups and workshops, this is my first ever attendance to a Steemit related event. Nervous was how I will describe much of the day was.

After going thru my morning errands, pampering my 2 sweet dogs, eating breakfast and early lunch, I started to prepare in going to the venue. 

AFTERNOON

Fortunately for me, the venue or rather the university (University of the Philippines) was just a few kilometers away from our place. Truth be told though, that I still came late :( .

After arriving in vicinity of the University of the Philippines Diliman (UP Diliman what most call it), I still have to find the exact building of the venue, being that the campus is huge. 

After asking around, I finally found the venue and entered. 

STEEMIT PHILIPPINES

At long last, I have finally meet some the Steemians in person, some I have come to know online. 

It was nice to finally know in person the people I only know by usernames on chat groups and Steemit

MEETING A WHAL*

On the event, we got a chance to meet a whale, no other than @surpassinggoogle

His warm welcome and gesture made it easy for us to approach and talk to him. 

DINNER

When the UP Diliman caravan was over, we headed out to take dinner at a cafe on with the UP premises as well. 

Before we started our dinner, another stemian and local TV celebrity also arrived. Her name was Janice Hung, a martial arts champion and commercial model. She was accompanied by some friends and her manager. 

During the dine-out, we continued our discussion. The group opened the floor for Janice's group intentions on helping Steemit reach out other locations and regions in the Philippines.

Terry (@surpassinggoogle) also continued his talk in relation to Steemit. His tone and gestures made me feel how passionate he is about Steemit and how this relatively unknown platform can make a positive impact towards us, Filipinos, who are mostly living in poverty. 

DAY CONCLUDED

As the day come to an end, we went our separate ways and went home. It was a nice, productive day for me. I met people who I only have talked to online till that day. I discovered more about Steemit and the heads of the local community who are so passionate about this new platform that will possibly disrupt the social media giants like Facebook and Twitter. 


Sort:  

Hi. where did you meet-up? i wish i can attend to this kind of steemit community gatherings.

We are glad to meet you in person stuck! Haha I am always seeing you in multiple group chats so for sure we will definitely bump each other again.
Good luck with the reporting stuff!

Nice to meet you all 😊😀

Nice
Please when next you will have the Meet up
Let me know.

Thanks

Nice to meet you @stuckinacup I also feel that it has been a very productive day for me :)

It was so great meeting you @stuckinacup!

I am also sependapt with you @luvabi

Nice to see such events happening more often. Steemit is untoppable! I'd love to meet you guys soon too

Wow. It is a nice event and that is only in UP diliman? I wish I could have joined and went there too as that is just two rides away from home. Ugh :( I hope there will be another eventlike this nearby. It is nice seeing you guys discuss steemit and having the initiative to reach out to others to discuss how Steemit would help. Kudos!

I love to see other steemians also

Awww. Happy to hear you enjoyed the event. I hope i can go to the next one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87