WARNING STEEMianS! You have been stalked!

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

Instagram - Facebook-Youtube

These are all trending social Media Apps that most of us have. How sure are you with your security? Perhaps not with the direct Media Administrator and all those who were hired in the technical side, but in the eyes of public? Are you safe? These 3 Social Media form have an options to let you filter your Audience. You have the option to make your post in public viewing or choose manually the audience you want your post to reach.

BUT did it come across your mind? Being here on Steemit? Posting photo blogs on your current locations and Pictures of your kids perhaps may put your lives at risk? 

WheN I first introduced to steemit, there were hesitations.Yes I do several blogs on other social sites but on a filtered audience esp. when it involves articles that has photos of my kids.Don't worry, I myself am guilty of publicizing my kids through social media post especially when i get excited with new discoveries on their milestones.

Fear struck when my toddler of 5 y.o kept telling me of these kids she is following in youtube.Yeah, yeah I had her hold an Ipad at that age thinking it would be safe if I can just filter her channels to watch.

There was nothing wrong with that sibling's vlog she's watching though, BUT it came to a point that my toddler wants to visit the sibling's house. I told her what she was asking was imposibble because we dont know where these kids lives.Then my daughter said, " I know Nanah, they just live somewhere near Daddy (referring to my brother), they got the same park, the same pool, and they always go to that mall near Daddy's, pls. Nahnah! Pls..." Seems like my daughter somehow did a daily stalking where these youtube kids goes everyday.Then I realized if my 5 y.o tot did investigate the whereabouts of these kids she has been following in youtube then most likely it is not imposible that kidnappers are also busy doing investigation on MOM bloggers who makes diary of their daily routines with their kids giving hints on photos of posted places . Some Parents are not aware that once you put hashtags on the photos you post, it creates social publicity, meaning everyone can see even if you are not registered on that certain social media application. 

Parents, I know we are all proud of our kids. Their growth in progress in general makes us excited everyday- but just be reminded you may not know that writing blogs about your family may give you earning perhaps BUT at the risk of their lives, just be warned. And these has been proven with so many viral post on social experiments, I hope those experiments serves as an eyeopener to us.


Disclaimer: This is not to warn Steemian Mom Bloggers to stop writing about your kids nor post photos of your kids.If you are not yet aware of DIGITAL KIDNAPPING, follow this link  https://www.aol.com/article/2015/07/20/digital-kidnapping-trend-threatens-parents-who-post-pictures-of/21211415/

This article serves as a reminder only to avoid over exhibition of our family profile to avoid putting our loved ones at risk with all those devouring bad guys out there. The Pen is still yours to write 😊

 CLICK https://steemit.com/@shenchen

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this information.. i think this a lesson for everyone of us to be vagilant.

Yes indeed... do everything with caution

I am guilty sometimes of this as well 😕 Its tempting to post when we find the caprtured moments cute 😊

Very timely reminder...

Cool blog. Hope this will help others to avoid crime. Let make this happen. Share share share

Thank you @darksideusc , you are free to repost to share Social Awareness 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43