Comedy Open Mic Comedy Contest - Round 27 | The Adventures of Childbirth

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

On the 24th is my daughter's 2nd birthday and we're going to have a small celebration with the family and closest friends. Here in the Philippines, it is mandatory to celebrate the baby's first birthday. Last year, I decided to break tradition. We didn't hold a grand celebration which raised a lot of brows especially from the grandparents. I have my reasons! One, I don't want to spend money for a party my baby won't even remember. And two, I'm still mad at her for wrecking her mummy's "gates of heaven." It took months before that sore feeling went away! And it wasnt the "it is on to the break of dawn" kind of sore. No! It l's the "I promise I'll be a better person" kind of sore.

image
Source

Oh, 18 hours of labor! 18 hours of indescribable pain! From 12:00 AM that day, I have been feeling like I want to poop but can't. You know how that feels? "Oh, I think it's going out now." Then you push but only air comes out. And have you ever had dysmenorrhea? You know, that menstrual pain we women always have every month? I don't suffer from that monthly but two years ago, it looked like mothwr nature gave me a full blow of 32 years worth of dysmenorrhea.

image
Source

I couldn't weigh though which one was more unbearable - the pain I was feeling or the thought that two-shift batches of doctors and nurses "worked" on me that day. Yeah! There were three - no four - I think five doctors who checked to see if I was fully dilated. You know how they check? Yep. They poke through mummy's gates of heaven. They were really nice though because they kept saying "I'm sorry ma'am, I'll just check if baby's ready to come out." I was like Kid, seriously, how many doctors need to knock before you decide to come out?"

It was like that for the whole day and I wasn't allowed to eat. When my OB Gyne finally arrived by lunch time, I pleaded for him to allow my husband to bring me food. I figured if my daughter is gonna overstay in my tummy, I need to recharge my food supply because she's still feeding inside me through her umbilical cord. And besides I wanted to see my husband's face just so I will remember the face of the person who brought me to this agony.

image
Source

When finally my daughter decided she doesn't want to stay in my belly anymore - 18 hours later - I was transferred from the labor room to the delivery room.

They turned me around, with all my naked glory being flashed to the doctors. I showed all of me to these people I don't even remember! They gave me an epidural. Then they transferred me from the labor bed to the delivery bed. Two doctors were holding my legs, another my hips, then my shoulders and my head. I was being manhandled. Like a pig!

A few seconds later after the admission of epidural, I was chilling. Not the beer on one hand, remote on the other kind of chill. I was shaking uncontrollably! I was panicking. One of the doctors said "That's a normal reaction, just relax." Sure, I can relax. I was wearing a lab gown and they wanted me to keep my knees apart and my legs bent. What is this? A live show or something? If these people could relax at this kind of situation, I will never hang out with them! Not in a million years!

Then we practiced how to push. You wouldn't expect a first time mother to just know how to push a child out from her stomach, would you? I think there should be a subject in schools that would include childbirth in their curriculum. I bet the population growth would decline ever so rapidly.

Then I heard her cry. I was expecting to be teary eyed as soon as the doctor hands her over to me. But when I saw her, the first words I said to her were "Why do you look like your father?"

Nine months of pregnancy. Eighteen hours of labor. Several stitches down below. And yet she comes out looking like her father. I want justice! But I still love her with all my heart.

You should be nice to your moms, you know. If you are already nice, well you should be nicer to her. She went through hell and a whole lot of humiliation just to bring you into this world. So go back home, give your mom a hug, a kiss and a whole lot of lovin. She deserves so much more than that.

☺☻ ☺☻ ☺☻ ☺☻ ☺

I nominate @beyonddisability and @johnpd

☺☻ ☺☻ ☺☻ ☺☻ ☺

Thank you for visiting my blog!


image




Discord link

romeskie.png

Sort:  

Hi romeskie,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

I think you may mean "Mummy's gates of heaven"

Daddy's is more of a thunder pole

Ohhh.. hahaha. Now that you mentioned it, daddy's gate doesn't sound right anymore. 🤔 hmm.. okay. I rephrased it.

This is perhaps the sweetest COM entry ever. Moms are awesome.

Awww.. Thanks @belemo. :-)

Hi romeskie,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you. :-)

That first picture is so appropriate! Lol!

Haha! That totally explains the exact thing happening down there when a woman gives birth. LOL!

I love the humorous narration of your childbirth experience. It is now only a sweet memory..

Thanks @audreybits. Yep it is. Now that she's a little person so full of energy - and I mean soooo much energy - I just wonder how this tiny thing fit into my stomach. Haha

Thank you for not throwing a party for a one year old. I never understood the point, but everyone I know disagrees with me.

Yeah. I want her to enjoy the party while I enjoy the party too. My kid doesn't want to be held by other people so I thought there's a big chance that party would have ended up with her crying all the time and me carrying her around trying to bot offend anyone wanting to tickle her.

Hahaha, now I wish I hadn't gone to bed last night before reading my last post to judge.

This was really funny and a story my own mom told me. Not about wrecking daddy's gates to heaven though. We didn't have that much of a creepy bond.

The responsible and respectable mom side of me says I should scratch that part when I tell the story of how I pushed her out into the world but the crazy mom side of me says the whole world needs to know the truth! The crazy mom side ruled! Haha.

Three cheers for Crazy Mom.

Hip Hip Hooray!

haha! what a wonderful blessing kids are..when they finally come out, love this funny recounting of such a painful experience! great job!

Hwaw na-Curie! Congrats! And yun p tlga nasabi m n una. Hahaha. Malay m paglaki magbago p fez. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Haha. Uu. Kasi mukhang mukha talaga ng tatay niya. Ngayon medyo halo na ang fez namin sa kanya.

Hahaha orayt. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75