Little Tradition I Do Every Year

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

Let me tell you all about this little tradition I do every year, and how I think that you all should do it too! 😊
D385B86D-F9B5-4388-B750-E8E2AB420E60.jpeg

So since 2014 (year I graduated from college), I always make sure that I have some preloved clothes to donate to the Crisis Intervention Unit of Department of Social Welfare and Development (CIU, DSWD).

Choosing charities by name alone is actually a mistake some donors make, and their money or donations sometimes ends up going to less than worthy groups. I worked as Social Welfare Officer at DSWD-NCR before and I assure you that they can really make you feel confident that the unit you’re donating to deserves your support.

Thus, if you’re also planning to do this or to make a charitable donation, make sure you know more about the unit than just the name it goes by.

As much as I want to donate my preloved clothes to the unit I used to donate to, I saw these pictures posted by my friend (a fire volunteer) on facebook while browsing my newsfeed.

FDAF5208-5FEA-49BC-902D-10D46F8AE5A9.jpeg

E508F2D5-8E04-48DA-A72E-7D1F16418E62.jpeg

B78BEBE1-38C6-42D7-95F2-71AC4753BE42.jpeg

These pictures broke my heart last week. That’s why this year, I decided to donate my preloved clothes to the Galas Balic-Balic Fire Rescue Volunteer Brigade Inc. for the fire victims of Galicia, Sampaloc, Manila. By doing this or by making a clothing donation, I know I’m helping to make a difference in my community since I’m also from Sampaloc, Manila.

92EA6382-83B9-4186-96F0-936CE438BD59.jpeg

Your clothing donations can make a big difference to individuals who are struggling to make ends meet. I always believe that no act of kindness, however small, is ever wasted.

As one of the charity volunteers here in Steemit philippines, i want to encourage everyone to give, give, give. It is true that you gain more happiness doing things for others than doing them for yourself.

For those who are looking for a filipino community, this is the access to steemit philippines server:

https://discord.gg/SbctSSP

I will be forever grateful to my aunt @immarojas for introducing steemit. This is one of the platforms where we can do a good deed for humanity and make our time feel worthy and great as well.

Spread love. Xoxo.

*photos credit to Lestie, my friend, who is a fire volunteer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52