Steemit Promo Meetup at UP Diliman

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif
A runthrough of my presentation about Steemit and @steemph at UP Diliman.@dreamiely joins the Q&A session after to answer cryptocurrency questions.


Does public speaking make you nervous?

Are you nervous,@greymonolith asks me, joking. Go away, I said.
I have done hosting gigs, I even was an emcee at a wedding once, given out client presentations and classroom trainings but address an entire theatre to talk about something I'm passionate about, not quite yet. 2AM the day before I was making my powerpoint presentation and organizing my thoughts about its flow. I put in my notes and practiced a few times. It was only going to be 15 minutes so I had to make sure everything was packed in there and wouldn't put the audience to sleep, because yes, charity + blockchain does lull you to sleep, doesn't it?

One advice I always give in my Presentation workshops at work is to anticipate the questions and @dreamiely was happy to accommodate as I asked her at the beginning that I would call her out in case of questions. I know, I have a great backup plan.

After the talk, we spent our time at the booth waiting for newbies to sign up and entertained questions. We introduced @steemnest to newbies that were looking for tutorials and answered their steemit questions.

At the booth, we had our big tarp that was a great backdrop for photos and our projector, streaming youtube videos about steemit as a new social media platform.

DSC_0633.JPG
Steemit booth with snacks, steemit videos and new faces. Projected is a video from youtube by the beautiful @heiditravels.

Packing up here, I was asking if I should put the projector back in the box when it was still a bit hot. I love it too much, right? Haha.

Big thanks to hubby, @greymonolith for buying the snacks of cupcakes and bottled water, and bringing it up through 3 flights of stairs. lol. If that's not love for @steemph, what is?

Thanks also to these guys for showing their support for @steemph, @dreamiely @grazz @rafasays @monkeypattycake @greymonolith @tpkidkai @wilbejel @itsmechille @luigienius @davinsh @stuckinacup @kuminga and @wanderlass.

DSC_0647.JPGDSC_0660.JPG

We didn't notice we were the last ones to leave! You see how @grazz is folding up the tarpaulin carefully, 2 meters and instructions were not to fold it. It will be used in our future events so expect to see it in each one!

We spent some time watching the contest and we saw the high school students cheering for their machines as it went from obstacle to obstacle.

In need of some Chocolate kiss degustation

UP Carillon Tower, bells ring every 6 and 12
It was already dark when we went to dinner, walking from the College of Engineering to UP Bahay ng Alumni, where at the 2nd floor a quiant little cafe resides, serving my favorite Hickory Smoked Spareribs and Devils Food Cake. A lot from the group at the booth was able to go because it was walking distance from where we were, which was once of the reasons I chose the place, aside from the fact that I almost always eat here when I visit my Alma Mater. We were seated in minutes but the place was small and we were a big group so it felt a bit cramped.

We were thinking of what to order when @wanderlass tells me @dreamiely recommended the same ribs I told her was the absolute best thing in the menu. I also ordered coffee just because. I also like their bottomless iced tea which I usually get, I laughed while telling them, we used to stay here and have at least 4 before going because it was expensive for us as students.
DSC_0695.JPG
DSC_0706.JPG@janicehung arrived a bit after with her Manager and a couple of friends @siningniviola and @princesslilo. @surpassinggoogle spread some nuggets of wisdom and we took some inspiration from it. After eating, we had a photo ops with our steemit celebrities and continued talking outside the cafe for a full 3 hours!
DSC_0712.JPGDSC_0714_new.jpg

It's the steemit effect @surpassinggoogle has told me when we first met 2 meetups ago, we felt like old friends at this meetup and formed bonds, excited for our steemit journey.

all photos owned by my husband, @greymonolith


ABI.png

luvabi.png



Sort:  

Am certain the Meetup was a success seeing those beautiful faces. You all are true ambassadors of steemit, keep it up and nice work

Thank you @rabson. Hope you have fun on the meetup you are planning to join also in University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus :)

Yes it was a pretty nice event and it took place yesterday

Wonderful post dear Mam:):) thanks for sharing with us Hehe

@upvoted

Thanks for the upvote and for dropping by!

You're a natural public speaker and I don't think anyone fell asleep.

PS. Mejo kita na fez ko here pero keriboom lang :D

Sure ka?onga I'll replace it later.

Wag na po maliit naman. Tska ung mask ko halos halata na din nmn ako nyahahaha. Baka mgface reveal na dn ako soon kc hirap jumoin sa events na me mask :D pero pinag iisipan ko pa po. Pero wag mo na po palitan di din malalaman ng readers kung sino ko XD

Hehe sorry.yay face reveal.but you know the mystery is alluring.keep it.

Onga noh! Cge po will keep myself mysterious for now :D

Wow congrats po sa inyo! God bless po sa inyo steemians in Manila

Thanks, hope you are also able to meet @steemph.iligan peeps :)
Welcome to steemit!

Congrats on the successful presentation and meet-up!

It's lovely to see you guys get together. ❤

Thanks @arrliinn! Well, we were inspired by your successful meetup also in UAE!
I really was nervous with cold sweaty palms and everything.
But...building on the support of every steemian who was there, I carried on :)

Congrats on the successful event! The after-party was in Choc-Kiss pala? Nice. I would have ordered the same thing had I been there with you guys! Hope to meet all of you in person!

Yep, it's routinary but it's like tradition for alumni, right?
Hope to meet you in the next one :)

Keep it up Steemians.

Thanks @technological, keep it up too!

Great ambassadors ...... Yes you are keep.. the hope alive nice, interesting one from you

Thank you @tifebaba, we try our best to keep the steemit fire ignited. Keep inspiring also :)

@luvabi promos that are great and quality we are looking forward to more follow the trail @luvabi

Thanks so much, yep it was a big one with many schools in attendance so it was a University roadshow in itself. :)

Wish I could have gone! Regardless, super congratulations! 🎉

Wish you could have gone too!
Hope to see you in the next one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51