I quit social media for 5 days and lived to tell the tale

in #steemph7 years ago

So, I learned a lot about people leaving their social media accounts behind in search of a quieter and more peaceful life. Some leave for good, some only take a break for a certain period of time.

These people say they felt renewed after taking some time off of the social media apps. They say they felt more productive and happier.

These people claim they did more meaningful things when they were not constantly scrolling through their Facebook and Instagram feeds. .

Deciding to try a social media detox plan


I wanted to know what that's like. So, I did.

I went to delete Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube on my phone. I banned myself from visiting its websites through my laptop.

My biggest worry about this whole experiment, though, was my communication with my clients. I mainly communicate with them via IG DM, FB messenger, and email.

Email is not an issue since I don't consider it a social media platform. For Facebook, the Messenger is a standalone app so I think I could just keep the messaging app and delete the core app. However, I had to give up Instagram DM since there is just no way to access the messages without going through the main app.


So, what's it like disconnected from the social media world?



Fortunately, I am just slammed with work stuff the week I decided to do the experiment. Without distractions coming from my notifications, I was able to do deep work on the stuff I am working on.

But during down times, I am feeling that tick in my system. It is as if my instinct is to whip out my phone as soon as I felt even just a tiny bit of boredom.

There are instances when I am just in the car, waiting, and I had nothing to do. During these moments, I had to think of something else to do.


Final Verdict: Will I do this again in the future?



YES! Definitely.

I believe that taking a break from social media is a very important and effective way for us humans to be able to step back and reflect upon life.

Because of this experiment, I now view our computers and phones as some sort of garbage mountain and we are the scavengers. The huge mountain made of garbage can be metaphorically compared as the content being created nowadays.

We live in an era where content creation is such a very important part of the everyday life. Today, we have vloggers, bloggers, Youtubers, writers, photographers, videographers, influencers, and more.

Everyone seems to be creating vlogs nowadays. As a negative effect of this progress, humans are being loaded by too much information. Too many videos and articles bombarding us with more and more "things that we should know if you're this or that".

All in all, this has been such a very important process for me to undergo on a regular basis. I think I would really benefit if I do more of this.

How about you? Will you do it, too?

Let me know in the comments below if you are also planning to do a social media detox yourself.

Sort:  

Great read! I wanna say Steemit detoxified me of FB since I now compulsively check my wallet instead of my FB page. Hahaha! Just kidding. But seriously, my time on FB was greatly reduced by Steemit. It's just more fun here.

Yes, I think I am spending more time on Steemit as well, instead of FB. I actually only use the Messenger app nowadays :)

Well this tell a lot.. i should try this once in my life..

You really should. A break from social media can have lots of benefits for you :)

I consider myself lucky im in my 30s so I kind of had the choice weather or not to be involved with social media, as a busy working man I chose not to be too involved and I think that was a good choice for me. The younger people I dont think they really have a choice their whole lives and all of their friends lives are on social media. Would be hard to stay away I think.

True! Younger people are basically born with a username and social media accounts. We can no longer help it because it has been the norm. But we still have the power to take some time off of it and just enjoy some real life :)

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.35% vote... I was summoned by @jojoanamarie! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh


surprised that you were able to keep away that long!
i might only be able to do that if i were in a remote place where there isn't a net connection.

I was surprised with myself, too. I was actually hesitant to do it at first because I fear that I will be missing out on a lot of things. But I just went ahead and did it and it was just such a freeing experience :)

Ang galing! In my case, I tried lessening my social media activities. I used to post just about anything in FB, IG and Twitter.. but nowadays, I post very seldom.. and it isn't so bad at all. Kaya lang I cannot totally get away from it kasi I work as a community manager handling social media accounts ng brands. hahaha. Anyway, will try to detox once in a while just like you did (with my personal accounts) and let's see if I could really do it. ^.^ by the way, follow me? Thanks! I look forward to your posts! :)

Congratulations @jojoanamarie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jojoanamarie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56