A Tribute to Stan Lee

in #steemph5 years ago (edited)

Off the topic first. Despite the low value of SBD and the current demograph of Steemit active users, bloggers, curators... I still have the willingness to write and discuss something familiar. (So hypocrite of me to not go after post payouts) It's becoming more of a ghost town, an abandoned community. Then and there, I hope people become livelier and enthusiastic about writing, blogging or reviewing something. It's like the server is dead. And speaking of dead, I am reminded of the late Comic Book writer Stan Lee.


image source

Stanley Martin Lieber, famously known as Stan Lee, is the creator of Marvel Comics, alongside Jack Kirby and another artist whose name I can't recall (since I am not researching at Google while typing this article). It was Tuesday morning, listening to the radio while driving when I heard the news of his death. Rumors spread like wildfire saying complications due to pneumonia caused his death. Like I said, I never consulted Google. I just absorbed news and facts I heard and knew before. I only rely on stock knowledge. I guess, they'not not just a pile of stock stucked on the small meat on my cranium.

It was also yesterday that I won a whopping Thirty Thousand Pesos in Paydro Live by answering correctly 11 questions. 7 of them are about Marvel. And I also want to share first some facts about Stan Lee and his creations.


screenshot from my Samsung Galaxy Tab A

Did you know?

● that The Human Torch is the first SuperHero that Marvel Comics created. (Whoa! Daebak!)

● that the Real First Avengers were IronMan, The Incredible Hulk, Thor, Ant Man and the Wasp (Oooh! Amazing!)

● Pink Panther is not the counterpart of Black Panther and was never from Marvel (Nyahaha!)

● Cable, the cyborg enjoying his travel to different dimensions thru time lapse, is the son of Cyclops and Jean Grey's clone (For real?! D'ya know that Deadpool fans out there?)

● The Wolverine is also a member of the Avengers. (Yeah!)

● James Howlett, and not Logan is the real name of Wolverine. (Yah right, you geek!)

So much for the facts. I haven't discussed my favorite Marvel Character. Take a guess. Tan-tana-nan! (drumrolls please)... Doctor Stephen Strange, The Sorcerer Supreme. He can control time, can fly or float (because of the Cloak of Levitation), conjure weapons using sorcery, travel through different dimensions, project his astral form and transport to different areas (with the aid of the Sling Ring). As how the Ancient One explained, they are performing Sorcery and Wizardry by harnessing energy from other dimensions. It was later on revealed that some powers they possessed were harnessed from the Dark Dimensions which made other Sorcerers switch sides and revolt against the Ancient One.


image source

In Marvel Cinematic Universe's Doctor Strange, they featured the part where Doctor Strange trained in Kamar-Taj with the sole purpose of healing himself and how he managed to use the Eye of Agamotto to defeat Dormammu. The broader story of Doctor Strange is where he travels to past and future to alter some events and misfortunes. Being the keeper of the Time Stone made him significant for the Avengers and Thanos as well.

Back to Stan Lee, he also became famous because of his cameo apperances on several MCU movies. I'm not sure if it was also Stan Lee on the painting in Big Hero 6. My favorite appearance of Stan Lee was when he did a haircut on Thor in Thor : Ragnarok. Quite funny wasn't it?

And to wrap things up, I still haven't thought of my favorite Marvel Quote. There were too many to begin with, and I am so much inspired by the lines and quotables of Marvel's scriptwriters and editors. So I should end this article now before I became too annoying for being a complete fan-boy of MCU and Stan Lee.

Natasha to Bruce - "The sun's getting real low."

Sort:  

"I'm with you, till the end of the line."

"Whatever happens tomorrow you must promise me one thing. That you will stay who you are. Not a perfect soldier, but a good man."

– Captain America

Lapagan na ba ito ng mga paboritong linya?

With great power comes great responsibility.

-Uncle Ben

Hahahah

I love your trivia Jampol. I didn't know all of those. I like Dr. Strange too. And nandun din sa movie na yun yung favorite kong cameo appearance ni Stan Lee. Hehe

Thanks for sharing! ❤❤❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77