EMBRACED A CHALLENGE AND ENDED IT WITH A BIG SUCCESS

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago, I have been given a task to demonstrate and showcase the way we teach science including the things we just learned after attending a 14-day training about the different methodologies and approaches in science. This was the reason why I was not able to post even at least once in 12 days here on steemit. Aside from my duty as a teacher which is already huge to handle, I had to go extra-mile spending time and effort to absorb this training and to prepare for a demonstrating teaching to showcase everything the best way I can because the training was conducted on a daily basis that starts at 1 o'clock until 3 o'clock in the afternoon right after our regular teaching hours.

Doing the normal teacher’s task on a daily basis is already demanding, when it comes to time and effort, we have daily lesson planning for the first place not to mention the materials that comes with those lesson plans, powerpoint presentations, videos you need to present etc., here in the Philippines it is known to everyone that teachers even had to bring home some of their work, working beyond the official hours, even during weekends, and myself is not an exemption. And here comes another challenge I need to embrace, to conduct a demonstration teaching in science using the methodologies mentioned during the training.

The document below shows the dates, facilitators for each topic and myself included as a demonstration teacher to apply everything from this training in a real classroom setting.

1.jpg

I don't have so much time to elaborate my story as I still have lots of school-related work to do so let me show you right away the result of my demonstration teaching. I was observed by Ms. Genersol G. Monton, Education Program Supervisor in Science.

The length of this first page did not fit in my scanner but basically, I was able to hit all that was expected from me to demonstrate, with the highest possible score.

2.jpg


Here is the second page, I almost got it perfect, facilitating an activity where most pupils will feel the need of asking more questions was quite a challenge.

3.jpg



Here are some photos during the demonstrating teaching.

IMG_20180314_063910.jpg

The entire class was eager to participate when you are utilizing technologies such as tablets, computers, and robots, you don't really put so much effort to get the learners motivated. 21st Century learners really are into technology.

During this session, I utilized the 7E model that I learned during the PRIMALS Training. The 7E stands for Engage, Elicit, Explore, Explain, Elaborate, Extend and Evaluate.

vlcsnap-2018-03-14-19h04m52s981.png

Everyone was focused as I demonstrate to the class how the robot works.
IMG_20180314_063939_Burst01.jpg


Two of my pupils demonstrated to the class how to execute the program on the EV3 robot. This gives me some points by making my lesson localized. Robotics Integration maybe is advance to most students, but since we have a robotics team in LPES who actively participates in the competition, pupils can easily relate more about this technology.
29244618_1678960138829796_6324907713562148864_o.jpg


Our Education Program Supervisor in Science, Ms. Genersol G. Monton closely observed how the pupils utilized the tablets, measuring devices and the EV3 robot during the activity.


As you can see, learners today are really enthusiast when the lesson involves technology. We really have to work on with our teaching skills so we are able to cater the needs of today's learners.
vlcsnap-2018-03-14-18h59m56s545.png

A photo after the demo with our Science Coordinator Ms. Angelyn Ocampo-Tonelete (Left) in La Paz Elem. School and our Education Program Supervisor in Science Ms. Genersol G. Monton (Right)
29243915_1678960232163120_4832576341079490560_o.jpg

The trophy is an effort of the entire Science Team led by our Science Coordinator Ms. Angelyn Ocampo-Tonelete, courtesy of our School Administrator Mr. Renante B. Corpuz.

29187162_1678960862163057_3259732233220521984_o.jpg

cert03192018.jpg

We never ACHIEVE just on our own. It is ALWAYS because of the support of OTHERS.

I hope that you find this post interesting


And I'd like to thank you for reading!


You may check out my Microsoft Certifications here.


Sort:  

Wow! Missing my teaching days... :(

I am a licensed teacher by profession but by heart am in the BPO industry for more than almost 12 years now... Nice seeing teaching demonstration again... ;)

I was in the BPO mostly technical account, I like it but I was already having a hard time working on a graveyard shift. Welcome to steemit by the way. Have fun.

I see.. Glad you found your passion..
Thanks again... Sure, will have fun while knowing more people... ;)

Congratulations @jerome-morales! Your post has been featured to steemph-manila-daily-featured-posts-19-mar-2018 . Continue to create quality posts.

Thank you so much for the support @itsmechile and thank you so much @steeph.manila for the recognition. More power!

Wow! Congrats!

Nice piece my friend

Thank you for dropping by @diamondrich

Congratulations on the job well done being a teacher. I am glad that your students have been very participative with the activity.

Thank you for the compliment @bhabykat. It means a lot to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72