No More Excuse: JUST DO IT!!!

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

DCE24A58-C8FA-4EDA-ACF4-B90DFB78780A.jpeg

ex·cuse
verb | ikˈskyo͞oz/

1. Attempt to lessen the blame attaching to (a fault or offense); seek to defend or justify.

2. Release (someone) from a duty or requirement.

3. To forgive entirely or disregard as of trivial import ; regard excusable.

For the past couple of months I have been making a lot of excuses; excuses that would ease the guilt of not doing things to achieve my goals. I have been telling myself that all the changes, the busy, the stress, the fun I am experiencing at the moment are enough of an excuse for me to slack. Not that I have been really slacking, but there are times I feel I am not doing enough and times where I know I can do more. I am failing myself for missing out some opportunities that could propel me to greater heights. This has been the emotions in my captains log for the past few days.

Then just this morning I woke up and first thing that came to mind is “Enough with excuses. JUST DO IT! JUST DO MORE!” – thus this (comeback) post.

These are some realizations I had:

EXCUSES ARE an ESCAPE -a detour an excuse that we use to avoid our fears. There may be a bit of exaggeration there, but I realized that making an excuse is a result of one’s FEAR - fear of failure, fear of growing, fear of the unknown.

Being mindful that as humans we have our limitations, there are of course tolerable excuses that are unavoidable. But for situations where excuses are unnecessary we have to be more mindful and have PARADIGM SHIFT. When things really get uncomfortable it’s time to shift gears and look at the situation on another angle. Instead of being stuck with the “WHYs,” start asking the “HOWs”. “How can I overcome this?” “How can I make this better?” “How can I do more?”

CONSISTENT FOCUS, PRIORITIZATION and TIME MANAGEMENT

I believe are some factors that can really help us to do more and avoid excuses. Key word that binds all these words is CONSISTENT. Consistent FOCUS on the GOALS you want to achieve and PRIORITIZATION on the things you must do everyday to achieve your objectives. Easier said than done, I know, but this is where consistent TIME MANAGEMENT comes in. Breaking down the “must/ to-dos” on a yearly, monthly, daily, even hourly basis. There may be some things you have to give up and you must make a tolerable excuse but at the end of the day, do things that can contribute to your self worth. This will give you confidence that you are able to do more and you are moving towards your goals.

From now on, I promise myself to consistently focus, prioritize and consistently avoid making unnecessary excuses.


Sort:  

Welcome back @jeanelleybee!!!

Wahaha! Thanks @luvabi #finally 😅

So nice. Keep Steeming! :)

Wahahaha! Should i make this as my wallpaper? 😅

Thanks for flicking your light back on. Hindi mo man nakikita pa sa ngayon yung resulta ng desisyon mo, balang araw magpapasalamat ka sa sarili mo na hindi ka sumuko.

Hi @monkeypattycake! Agree naman sayo. Salamat! ☺️

Yey!

No more excuses! Let's do it :)

Hello @precise!!! Wohooo. No more! ☺️

I didn't know about the meaning of the word. thanks for sharing @jeanelleybee :-)

Hi, fellow Filipina here looking for like the main PH team chat or forum! I enjoyed this article. Love positive vibes like this!

Thanks @thegiamarcos! I like your articles as well they are interesting. Followed you and looking forward to reading your articles

Thank you. I'll check out the discord channel too :)

As for PH team forum you can join this discord channel: https://discord.gg/QYmZhkF. Hope this helps ☺️

What a great post! This line in particular really stuck out to me:

There may be some things you have to give up and you must make a tolerable excuse but at the end of the day, do things that can contribute to your self worth.

You're absolutely right, at the end of the day this is the bottom line. It's a conscious choice that we have to make, to put aside some things that don't serve our higher goals in order to truly pursue what we dream of making a reality. :)

Nike!

hehe. just to it! :D

No more excuses Philippines! Aja!

And welcome back dear. Steemit missed you ^_^

Wipee!!! I missed steemit too ☺️

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dreamiely from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69