My First Haiku Poems

in #steemph4 years ago (edited)

I'm used to writing free verse poems or prose but today I learned something.

It is my first time writing Haiku poems and I'm excited to share it. But before I do, let me explain what it is.*
In my own words,

A Haiku is a Japanese poem structure.
It has three lines.
The syllables of each line or mora is 5 - 7 - 5

If you want to know more

Features of Haiku
It contains three lines.
It has five moras (syllables) in the first line, seven in the second, and five in the last line.
It contains 17 syllables in total.
A Haiku poem does not rhyme.
Haiku poems frequently have a kigo, or seasonal reference.
Haiku poems are usually about nature or natural phenomena.
The poem has two juxtaposed subjects that are divided into two contrasting parts.
In English, this division between two parts can be shown by a colon or a dash.
Source:https://literarydevices.net/haiku/

My poems

Tea

haiku 1.jpg

Do enjoy a cup
when tea brings you peace and calm
you can't do with one.

Rose

Your roses left dead
the petals blown by the wind,
feelings yet alive.

Cacti

Cute things but take care
your soft gentle finger could bleed
Oh lovely cactus!

Leaves

Leaves grow then they fall,
Lovers go like the storm do
yet the strong ones remain.

Candle

Candle light flickers,
some claims to see the future
will the light betray?

I never thought that writing Haiku is fun. words don't need to rhyme but they make sense for me. This is short yet brings solid message. My friend @jacinta.sevilla suggested this to me and I decided to try it. Thank you for also suggesting good photos to use!
I really love reading books and writing, now that things are stressful, this brings us a good way to express creativity and try many new ways to do things. Stay strong in these hard times and keep working hard.

Sort:  

thank you ❤️❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60956.08
ETH 3383.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50