Travel Explore Pray ( a backpacker's Visita Iglesia)

in #steemph4 years ago

"The world is a book and those who do not travel read only a page." - Saint Augustine

A few months ago, I traveled domestic with two of my six siblings. I went to Iloilo with my younger sister and brother. Iloilo is on Panay Island in the Philippines, it's actually one hour away by plane from my own beautiful City. Iloilo City is not only famous for its delicious original dish, the "Lapaz Batchoy" but is also known for its colonial churches and old mansions. I knew that time, our travel wasn't for some adventure. Well, I don't really travel just for adventure. I travel because I love to be in different places and experience different culture, explore their places and taste their foods. I was excited to explore Iloilo because I also find interest in old buildings or ruins though I don't really know much about history.
received_898203900636505.jpeg

Jaro Cathedral

With my sister/travel buddy

Our first day in Iloilo City.
Firstly, we visited the Jaro Cathedral. It was just a 5-minute walk away from our accomodation. The Church of St. Elizabeth of Hungary or commonly known as Jaro Cathedral was built in 1864. Destroyed in the quake of January 1948 and restored in 1956. A unique feature of the church is its all-male ensemble of saints placed on the main pillars, with the exception of the Virgin's icon. The arrangement is in response to Molo Church's all-female theme.

IMG_20200213_132813.jpg

Molo Church (A rare Gothic Church)

as a feminist myself, I love this Feminist Church

Since the Molo Church is also a jeepney ride away from the Jaro Cathedral, we easily found ourselves there on the afternoon. Also known as Saint Anne Parish Church. The church was built in 1831 and was completed in 1888. The Church has two pointed towers and the interiors as well as the altar's design makes it a gothic Church. It also has two belfries that have around 30 bells of different sizes which gift music to the ears when tolling. It earned the moniker “women’s church” because of the presence of 16 images of women saints inside.

received_832461510559256.jpeg
Miagao Church ( A World Heritage Site by UNESCO)

No, this is not in Italy. Only in Iloilo City.

FB_IMG_1581576833589.jpg

the sides of this Church looks like a castle, me and my sister were really amazed by it.

The following day, we went to a slightly long journey. Miagao Church or The Church of Saint Thomas of Villanova is 45 minutes away from the City. The Church is completed in 1797 and is famous for the artistic sculptural relief carved on its facade. In 1993, the church was designated as one best examples of the Baroque Churches of the Philippines and included in the list of World Heritage Sites by UNESCO. According from most of the travelers, the Miagao Church is one of the country’s architectural gems because of its unique and imposing designs, ornaments and motifs.

received_1291307891051264.jpeg
Garin Farm Pilgrimage Resort

after 480 steps, finally!

Screenshot_2020-02-13-14-06-56-12.jpg

the Heaven on Earth

Our last destination was 13 kilometers away from Miagao Church, the famous Garin Farm Pilgrimage Resort. Although it is not one of the old churches in Iloilo City, I wanted to include this here because no traveler would miss this place out when going to Iloilo. This "instagrammable" place is known as "The Heaven on Earth." Truly, the place was like the Heaven we see on television, so bright with a background music of "Hallelujah." But before you could get on top, you need to climb the stairs with 480 steps. On the way, you could see some Bible scenarios and the Stations of the Cross.

It was a long and tiring journey yet I could say that it was all worth it. Visiting these religious places in Iloilo City was new and renewing to me. It's literally an escape from all the stress and problems I left from the world I knew everyday. How I wish these could also be found where I live, so I could just travel easily and freely whenever I need a spiritual uplift or simply an escape. Would I visit there again? Definitely yes and I would recommend you do the same thing too. You would get closer to your Catholic faith and at the same time explore and be surprised by the City's rich history.

Sort:  

Beautiful post! Hopefully I'll get to visit those historical sites.

I'll be your guide. 😄

Beautiful post with matching wonderful photos. I have relatives in Iloilo in Jaro and I have been to the Molo Church but a long long time ago. Maybe before your parents met each other he he he.

My parents got married on 1979 sir, hehe. But yes, these Churches' old architecture are still well preserved. Hopefully you could also visit there again soon sir.

See I was right. 1966 pa ako nakapunta dyan he he. Nasa grade school pa parents mo :)

maybe my mom po still in grade school that time. because my papa is already 73. 😄

Congratulations @eunhye.gray! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54