My Weight Loss Journey and the Number 50

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

I've not written anything these past two days as I was preoccupied with so many things. I was just not in the mood to type in so many thoughts running in my head. PMS is real! Just this afternoon, after running errands in the morning, I checked on my Steemit account and glad to see my reputation now reached 50. My rep 49 was the longest journey ever that's why I am so grateful to the people who encouraged me to go on and continue posting for me to be able to reach this milestone.

For almost a month now, I've restrained my self from sharing about my weight loss efforts and results in Steemit and on Facebook. Though, many people of my friends have noticed my transformation already in the photos I've posted these past few days. Now, I decided to talk about it, finally! You know why? My new rep number serves as my sign to share my journey in this platform as coincidentally, I was aiming for 50 too- but in kilograms. Rep 50 and 50 kilograms.

Up and Down

I grew up really, really skinny. I mean, REALLY skinny. My body type actually was one of the reasons why I was bullied in school. People called me names because of it. Those times, my mother won't let me wear pants for it will only highlight my very thin legs. Those were the times when I felt so devastated and helpless because no matter what I do, I will not gain weight that much.

When I was 18 years old, I only weighed 40 kilos. At 21, finally, I was 42 kilos. At 25, I was 45 kgs. When I worked abroad and got married at 26, I became 46 kilos Before I got pregnant, at the age of 27, I reached my ideal weight (my height is 5'2") at 50 kilograms. For me, that was the time when I looked my best.

However, after I got pregnant, I gained another 15 kilos (I became 65 kilograms!) until I gave birth to our daughter on 2013. But despite that, I was able to shed those excess weight in 7 months only. That was easy back then. But after that, my weight was like a see saw - up and down.

Between the year 2016-2017, that was when I gained much weight. There were so many factors involved but I blamed it largely on rice. "Rice is life," as they say. This is so true. I consumed more or less 8 cups of rice a day. That's when the people around me noticed the big change in my body. Despite the obvious difference in my built, I continued with my habit until I can no longer wear my old clothes. Also, I can no longer do strenuous activities. That's when I decided to make a change.

November 20, 2017. I stepped on the weighing scale: 62 kilos. I accepted the fact that I'm really overweight and I have to do something. That's when I decided to take these snaps:

Change has come

When I decided to lose weight, I sacrificed my love for rice. I only ate half cup of rice per meal. At first, the struggle was real but eventually, after a week of adjustment, I got used to it. Despite the holiday season (December), I managed to keep my promise and still ate in moderation.

Now, after 5 months, I got this result:

Now, from 62 kilograms, I weigh 52.5 kgs. I know I still needed more time though I'm really happy with the present results. Maybe I've already achieved 50 in my reputation on Steemit but still trying hard to reach 50 kilos in real life. However, I will not rush things anymore. I will keep it slowly but surely.

Now, for a better comparison:

I've posted this not to gain praises but to inspire other people who are struggling - whether it's about their weight or other things. If you are stuck in a certain situation, it's really up to you if you'll move on or not. If you'll keep doing the same things over and over again, definitely, you can never expect for a different result. Let's start the change within ourselves and reap the results in the future.


signature_1.gif

I have voted for my witness. How about you? Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Congratulations bing you done a great job...hope steemians will inspired on you're post

Salamat sir. Unta gyud. Nalipay ra sad ko

For me, chubby is always sexy

You look good.

Chubby or not
What matters is good heart.

Upvoted and following you

Thank you. :)

WOW!!! :) You really did lose weight.. :) Hmm, can you just give me those excess fats? I badly want to gain more weight so bad. I am eating but it ain't working. :(

Maybe that's your body type na talaga. It's okay, as long as di ka sickly. 😊

Hindi naman ako sickly (thank God) yun nga lang, andami daming nagsasabi na ampayat payat ko daw. :( Magpataba na daw ako. Kain na nga ako ng kain eh. Wa epek pa rin. Huhuhu. :(

That's the problem with our society: either call you mataba or payat. Mema. Hahaha.

Kaya nga ehh. Kahit ano ka naman, may masasabi at may masasabi talaga yung mga tao nuh? HAHA :D Nap-pressure tuloy ako magpataba. :D

Wow good work

Thank you. :)

Glad you make it! @bingcaingo :) Ako minsan kapag nasa hapag na makakalimutan kong half rice lang lang dapat. 😄

Ganyan din ako dati. Tyaga lang talaga @daisyt23. :)

Haii maypa ka. Hehe hirap pag walang rice grabeeee!

Half cup lang man ko. Rice is life gyud. Hihihi. Kaya na nimo. :)

huwoww!! looking forward na ako sa Ramadan hehehe... malapit naa!! lols

Ay oo nga pala. Mag before and after ka na din. Hihihi

Indeed, determination is the key.
Congrats on your achievement @bingcaingo !

Rice is life jud ay 😪

Ay! As in gyud mao nga perting paningkamot

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10