Testing Out My New Camera

in #steempeak5 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians,

I'm super excited today, because yesterday I was having a chat with @skramatters about guitars, and I became so excited that I practically ran out of the house to check out a nearby pawn shop.

Admittedly, this is one of the worst pawn shops in the area, in terms of "quality inventory", probably due to the sad truth that I live in a very highly drug infested area, and most of the merchandise is likely sold to supply drug habits. It's sad, but I cannot afford new things, so I search for used, and the pawn shops sell things at a fraction of the MSRP.

The same thing happened that always seems to happen when I go there. They had a couple of electric guitars that were entry level, and no guitar cable to test them, because, "people steal our guitar cables". I told the man it's still no reason to not keep a supply, because I have been there on three occasions as a potential buyer, and still cannot try out their guitars. He agreed, then went back to his cell phone conversation, which seemed a bit more important than the customer, but oh well.

I've also been looking for a decent camera there for some time, and did not expect to ever find a nice one. Sony Cyber-Shot cameras are the best you will usually find at this particular pawn shop.

It was as if the sky opened up, and rays of sunshine came splashing down on this beautiful Samsung WB100.

My jaw just about hit the floor when I saw it, because it was priced well under retail value. I checked it for functionality, and knew right away that it must leave with me. I told him I'll take it, and reminded him to get some guitar cables so that he may stop losing business on his guitars. He seemed to have a different tone at this point and said "yes sir, absolutely we'll get one.". Amazing how money seems to dictate how people treat others..

What is even more exciting, is the fact that me and @akiroq have been talking about photography, as it's something we both love, and she was also very excited and mentioned she will teach me some of her tricks! So this is great, I can't wait to learn more and step my photography game up!

Here are some "test shots". I will need to actually read the manual on this thing. There are so many settings, and half of them I don't understand. I've always been more of a hands on kind of guy, but I'm gonna actually have to study to get the most out of the camera. That's ok, it will be fun!

So without knowing what the heck I am doing yet, here are a few test captures!

There are no filters on these, but for some reason, it looks like there is an active filter effect, weird.. but they still look decent to me.


SAM_0999.JPG


image.png


image.png


image.png


image.png


image.png

That's it for now Steemians. I have some ideas and plans in the making. I will work on learning this camera better, and increasing/enhancing the resolution. Feel free to let me know what you think!


Much love,
@futuremind

Sort:  

I love the angles and perspectives. Really interesting shots. Yeah, that camera has a lot of functions, lots of stuff you can try out!
I had some fun with your photos. :P
leaves.png
bark2.png
dead.png
up2.png
trunk.png
I love how we feed off of each other's creative energy. It's awesome!
<3

Wow! I love what you did with these Akiroq!
I feel so inspired right now :)

I notice there is some heavy graininess to the photos. You cleaned them up nicely though! I think it was perhaps overexposure. I'm learning these settings as we speak, and it's quite amazing how much you can fine tune these cameras!

Thank you for creating these really cool effects with my captures. It's always an honor when someone derives inspiration from something I've created! <3

Congrats on your new toy :)

Thank you! :)

Your camera is in good shape, good for photography

Thank you! :)

So awesome, I'm ecstatic to have in some way have contributed to this camera purchase!

The shots look sharp to me! Look forward to your foray into photography! 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

I was like a little kid in a candy store talking about guitars with you, lol.

I suppose when the time is right I will get that electric guitar, but this camera was certainly a good find.

Thank you for the compliment and motivation bro!

Hello my friend, @futuremind. How are you doing? It's great to know you have a new camera now. Even if you buy it at a pawn shop. I have seen your photos. And in my opinion it's very perfect. Not everyone is born to get rich. so I think we should be grateful for what is in us. I hope that the electric guitar straps at the pawnshop will be found soon so you can do a usage test and you can buy it right away. Enjoy your day, sir

Thank you @elianaelisma
Yes, it's nice, and I am grateful also for what is within. Thank you for the compliment on my photography, have a great day miss.

Hi, @futuremind!

You just got a 31.06% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 14.65% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @futuremind!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79