It may seem I've fallen off the map... Well perhaps it's time we make a new map! [The SteemP2PTour Grows Nigh!]

in #steemp2ptour7 years ago (edited)

“If you wish for a pearl you must leave the desert and wander by the sea; and even if you never find the gleaming pearl, at least you won't have failed to reach the water.” -Sama'i

The wisdom of these words has never been more relevant to me than right now.

These past few months, my life has been full to overflowing. So what's been going on?

I've been slowly paring away the possessions of a lifetime. Yard sales, Craigslist, and giving things away to friends, only the most essential or irreplaceable things will remain.

Here's the tail end of the last grueling 12 hour Sunday yard sale... How do we get so much stuff!?! There's still so much more to dispense with... someone please come take it all away! :P

I've also been trying to see everyone I can manage to see before I hit the dusty trail. Late night walks with friends around Lake of the Isles, contemplating the mysteries of the blockchain, or the other great mysteries of life with @roadscape, @mada, @kommienezuspadt, @darkb4dawn, @mbbarr, @wolfcat, and others.

Finding a foster home for the sweetest cats in the world... which was sad but necessary. No matter how much they pleaded with me to take them along, defiantly perched on my suitcase, they had to find some new digs... I hope they're happy in their new home. Someday I'll move them to the mountains of Mongolia, or an island in the Mediterranean.

Canoeing the Mississippi and Minnesota Rivers, hiking, and exploring with the incomparable @wolfcat

Basking in a garden which has been lovingly cultivated for the past three seasons...

Breathing deeply the sweet ambrosial breeze as it passes through the Tulsi leaves...

Cooking amazing late night feasts over an open flame with my dear friend and ally for life, @mbbarr.

Just taking it all in... and letting it all go!

Endings and beginnings, so intimately joined in a circle. If your hands are full, you cannot accept the gifts of the world. "If you wish for a pearl, you must leave the desert..."

So I haven't been very present here on Steemit, but that's all about to change.

In just 5 days I move out of my apartment, and in 11 days I'll be flying across the Atlantic.


...And so shall begin the SteemP2PTour!

Heads up Europe, @wolfcat and I are coming your way! =)

That's all I have time for right now friends... I have to get back to packing up boxes and things, but more to come soon!


Next up....

What the SteemP2PTour means to me

First stop #Ireland ☘️☘️☘️


Stay tuned for more!
Best wishes!!!
@lovejoy

Sort:  

What were among the hardest things to let go of? For me it was books (most of which I bought new for $20 to $80 but only go for like 50 cents in a garage sale). And clothes, which I always hate like hell to get rid of - thinking I might wear them again some day.

Oh yes... books are getting fewer and fewer, they are so hard to get rid of and yes, you never get what they're worth. Most of these are gone already.. I'm down to one box of essential reading and signed copies.

I let go of my first camera ever...that was hard. The 35mm Canon AE-1. Many things I've kept as "art materials", for "someday" when I would make that collage, or sculpture, or whatever... that's all going going gone. The clothing, yes... keeping things forever even though you don't wear them anymore. Sentimental odds and ends, things from childhood, it's all being dealt with. I've been taking my things which were stored at my parents house for years, and slowly offloading them... old toys and trinkets. One of a kind leaflettes and zines that I will never read again... going to the free box at the Seward Cafe, so heads up Minneapolis. ;) Oh so many things... but some things I can't get rid of, like my father's bow, or a few old tools from my grandparents farm, the axe from my parents place.... things like this I have to store, for someday... when I will have some land that isn't 'rented'... I'm dreaming of such a day. But first... it's a nomad's life for me. I've got a few years of world travel left in me, and still need to circumnavigate the globe on a sailboat, so... onward!

We are sentimental creatures and struggle when we have to part with things which have been a big part of our lives. But some things do need to be removed to make room for new things that's how life works, can't have everything we want.

I am also really attached to the books that I buy but when it is time to let go, I usually give them to my local library so that I can visit them whenever I want!

Wow, man! It's amazing. Not every person can leave all what he had and go to another continent in search of adventures. Most of us are strongly attached to the places around us, things, people, workplace... And you fellows, good luck with your travels!

Thank you! I have just finished moving out, and will be so glad to begin the adventure. :) I will make another post soon... I leave in mere days. Best wishes!

Good times ahead. Looking forward to hearing all about your tour!

Thanks! I can't believe it's nearly a reality, after all these months of planning, and preparing. :)

This is deep thinking, "If your hands are full, you cannot accept the gifts of the world." Thumbs up man. Loved both of your posts.

Thanks! :) It's not a particularly original thought on my part, and in a way it seems self-evident. I appreciate your comment!

Living a simple life is sometimes the best life :D

Motivation.png

I'll always remember the sticker on @darkb4dawn's door that said, "live easy and minimal"

Those cats are super cute!

happy traveling. nice story and adventure. upvoted

Thanks for the good wishes, and your vote! :)

How lucky you are to be able to travel.
All the very best in your coming adventure. What better time to do this when you are still young and can enjoy all the activities and excitements.
Take care and God Bless
@jackpot

I'm immensely grateful for the ability to travel now, and I hope to be able to share some stories worthy of this opportunity! Thanks for your good wishes. All the best! :)

Some times having nothing is best, now you only concentrate on the things that are truly important. Someone with nothing only has everything to gain.

I fully agree, and that's the idea... :)

I remember moving out also and we had to leave one of the cats we had, it was so hurting inside the heart of a pet lover...I feel you my friend. But good luck to your new adventure, I'll be following you. God bless!

Yeah, it's hard to leave them behind... I've had those two since they were 8 weeks old, and now they are with a relative stranger in a strange land. Someday we will meet again! Thanks for your comment! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83