You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 📉 Steemonomics 💡 TIL: Why are we suddenly getting liquid STEEM rewards?!

in #steemonomics6 years ago

To be honest, I thin k the whole SDB and it's peg was a terrible idea, it would be better if there was only STEEM, it's liquid form and locked version as Steem Power.

Sort:  

I actually quite like the idea of a properly pegged asset.

You should check out the post by @lukestokes that I've added under "further reading" on this post. He has this 20mins or so video going into the pros and cons of a working 2-way-peg on SBD and why this might actually be steem's "secret weapon" on the crypto markets. It's really worth watching!

let's see if I change my mind after watching those...

Right now I'm just having these feelings that Steemit might have been structured either by mistake or design as a platform that only rewards those who started early or invested large sums of money in acquiring SP.
I've seen many whales posts that aren't anything spectacular and they get 100+ in reward because A) they have other old whales buddies upvoting them, B) they get upvoted by dolphins and bellow because it's expected their post will get a big reward so a chance to get a nice curation share, C) both previous reasons.

With their voting power used on those mediocre whales, minnows that produced a better quality content only get the crumbs... :(

I don't have any hard evidence supporting this I'm saying tho...

I hear you... money talks around here... and too many treat this platform like a printing press for their own coffers...

I don't think it was designed that way, though... looks a bit like the tragedy of the commons to me. The individuals (or too many of them at least) focusing on short term gains over long term health in the economy.

Putting that in the mix with a severely skewed wealth distribution and the resulting reward issuance might be a destructive combination though, I share those concerns!

The other thing I find sort of funny? weird? ironic? is that less than 5% of my followers upvote my posts....are them really that bad? I know I'm not Mr writer and I rarely make posts past the 2000 characters but I know how to make drawings...In fact I feel I was getting more upvotes back in 2017 than now that I feel I've been getting better both in my art and writing posts...or was that I got worse and I don't know? xD
I'm definitively getting more commissions now....perhaps I shouldn't worry that much about this and just enjoy the ride while it lasts hehe

I liked when the SBD was ~12$ hehe

well... the tragedy of the commons ;)

maybe we all need to worry more and still enjoy the ride even when it's a bit bumpy at times ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71