You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can we Stop Preaching to the Choir and Get a More Representative Trending Page?

in #steemonboarding5 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the mention. I was quite dismayed when I took a look and saw this last night:
Screen Shot 20200121 at 8.25.52 PM.png

I can coordinate the votes if the high quality stuff can be found. The issue I've been having is finding the sort of quality magazine article type posts. It's a bit of a chicken and the egg issue too, because the more the focus in on trending posts like this, the more people will start to up their game.

Feel free to hit me up on discord if you have any ideas.

Sort:  

Looks like burnpost has replaced sbdpotato! Sort one thing and another issue crops up.

I think we can find the high quality with the help of the communities. They check certain tags regularly and are most likely to come across the best posts.

That would be great if you can help. What sort of thing do you look for in articles? That could help as a guide to what we submit to you.

Trying to avoid cross-posted videos, single photos of artworks. Some examples of stuff we have targeted are below. I think part of that is identifying the authors capable of showcase quality posts, and get them relatively confident that these types of posts will get showcased (at least once per 7 days is what I imagined). If you showcase two authors per day, seven days a week, that's going to dramatically improve trending IMO, and also get the quality bar moving in a positive direction.

https://steempeak.com/technology/@zacknorman97/a-new-dawn-the-best-tech-trends-and-gadgets-at-ces-2020

https://steempeak.com/hive-112018/@spectrumecons/prevent-solve-or-manage

https://steempeak.com/blog/@markpritchard/marks-top-vehicles

https://steempeak.com/adaywithalineman/@jlsplatts/a-day-with-a-lineman-42-first-snow-of-the-year

https://steempeak.com/travel/@ladybug146/glow-gardens-indoor-light-festival-glow-around-the-world-exhibit

@riverflows, what do you think? Do you think the communities could find some of these posts?

@joshman, is there anyway we can co-ordinate via Discord with community leaders and/or representatives to drop links that can be supported by the communities?

My ONLY issue is that as a listed Health Curator on Steempeak, we'd be messing with the stuff that appears in our curation feed. Whilst I'm okay with upvoting content that isn't natural health or health or any of the other content we upvote, I don't know how the other community leaders feel about this or whether it's something we can all be on board with -- I think it's a really good idea.

Thanks! As we discussed, I think finding and encouraging the posts is harder than actually finding the votes for them.

I think since i commented we have sorted things out. I might write a post about it now!

Sure, just didn't want the blockchain to think I was blowing you off!

Could we have a community leader chat ON discord or something where we could submit best posts for this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41