IF NOT FOR BIG DREAMS😇steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemnaira7 years ago (edited)


Source



It all started 7 years ago and it looks like it was just yesterday, As usual, I woke up; had devotions with parents and did usual chores. But one thing was different, it felt like a special day or rather is going to be a special day. Why? It's the day I'm meant to enroll into secondary school for the first time.
After finishing with the chores, I went straight to bath and prepare for first day In school, after much anticipation and curiosity I got to school, did ask necessary things and started attending classes. It felt like a great thing tho, making friends was one special thing I had to do. Facing book was my priority,I did it with all confidence.



Source



First session ended, I had good grades it was a great thing tho friends and family were happy with me, I got different gifts from loved ones (1st position is always cherished by African parents). I continued at such and became the best in class and also the head of the class.
It was a joyful thing to have finished with junior secondary school, now time to move on to a new phase in life; senior secondary school- a time when u begin to choose what you'll like to become in future, a time for you to set all focus on what your future will entail. "I want to become an actor and choreographer" this was the only thing that my mind pondered on for first 3years in junior secondary school.



# Never Give Up On Your Dreams

As it's the custom of African tradition, I spoke with my parents on my choice of what I want to be in future, Dad was not in support of it (wants me to be a lawyer), but Mom gave her full support so it was left to us to try and convince Dad. After much arguments and pursuit, he still didn't agree, I had to continue with secondary school first, at least there's still enough time to think about that again (but I still kept on to my dreams).

# D.R.E.A.M B.I.G

Not up to a year, It finally came; it happened suddenly; the day they say no one knows. I was in school when I heard the news- "Dad is no more, He's dead😑😥". It sounded as if I was busy watching a movie, but no it was real, it happened. He died in an accident while coming back from a business trip. Mom was in a state of melancholy.

Source



Siblings and I had to stay at home for close to 1½years, my friends were preparing for final exams in school, but I was busy with nothing at home because all was lost, nothing left to sponsor education. All hopes was lost-there isn't going to be a lawyer or an actor or a choreographer in the family. People mocked and laughed at our situation. Mom got a little business she was handling so at least there was something for daily bread.



Source



"Could this be the end of my dreams"- no it can't, same question that came to my mind as time passed. Being acquainted with the media was one thing I was good at. I stumbled upon an online scholarship program and applied for it. It was successful the (it is to sponsor 15 children from secondary school level to higher institution), at last I was happy, time to return to school, Mom was happy and other relations too.



Source



I passed well in the secondary school final exams and also aced jamb, got admission into the university of my choice to study theatre and media arts (at last I can become what I've always wanted to become-actor). I didn't give up on my dream, I'm currently in my second year to achieving my dreams, siblings are back to school and Mom now works in a firm.



Source





# Follow @aauthespian1 # Like, Comment And Resteem This Post

Sort:  

Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown.... We all are gonna make it one day.

Sorry bou your Dad. God bless all he left behind.

😞😶😌😌🙅🙅🙍😏thanks bro

We all gonna smile someday😖

If not for big dreams then wake up. Haaa has
Nice post.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Sorry about your dad.. I wish you the best..

😐😐😓😓🙋

Hello aauthespian1,

Your dream must come true.

I am so sorry to hear about your dad dear. Be strong and Work hard. I pray for you that all your dreams come true soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54