Make mine a "CLUB" sandwich! The @splinterlands, Weekly, Share Your Battle Challenge

Screenshot_20200216_073614.jpg

Taking part in the @splinterlands SHARE YOUR BATTLE CHALLENGE is one of the blogs I look forward to writing the most.

You see, I love playing #steemmonsters / #splinterlands, so when presented with the opertunity to share a battle with a specific theme or involving a certain monster, I jump at the chance. You see, by sharing my thought process and fighting stratagies with you lot, I can get your input and improve my playing style, all whilst getting a very nice upvote from @steemmonsters.

IMG_20200216_082318.png

As you may have seen, today's monster to be included in the battle is that "heavy handed", club swinging brute, the Pit Ogre:

Screenshot_20200216_065824.jpg
Screenshot_20200216_065837.jpg

He's a little bit slow, and a little bit clumsy, but given the right battle rule and he can slot in to anyone's starting line-up.

Screenshot_20200216_083919.jpg

So when presented with either a "super sneak" attack or "melee mayhem" battle rule, this big brute is worth his weight in gold.

I've included the actual battle below:

Screenshot_20200216_064924.jpg
Watch this massacre HERE

To start the line up I put my lvl 5 Pit Ogre in the tank position. Knowing the battle rule was "super sneak" I knew all he had to do was just hold his own 1-on-1 with the other tank as the majority of attacks would be aimed towards the rear.

When playing a sneak or mayhem battle I always try and include my Exploding Dwarf. If you can tuck him in the middle of your deck and get him to strike first, you're in with a good chance of winning the battle.

Coming in at only 2 Manna, the Kobold Miner packs a mighty punch for such a little card.

Follow that up with Creeping Ooze to slow down your opponents and then the sacrificial Furious Chicken on the end to take the first hit, for a low mana battle (17), that's quite a bit of fire power.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcN7VgCRshHTFasMxUhk4MEYfJDpWM4ds5mJ9MsceC2UHE68LMq66gfLNoNxtwTsCE9Uq198USVktkAoY7qGXLpL2u3pi.png

I was very happy with how this battle played out, and as is, I wouldn't change a monster.

Before submitting my team for battle, I was toying with having my lvl 4 Cerberus in the tank position instead of the Pit ogre. It does have 1 less melee attack but has the bonus of greater speed and "heal", which is a fantastic buff for being in the tank position.

Screenshot_20200216_090557.jpg

This would have freed up an extra 2 Mana to be used on including my Cocatrice. This little monster is incredibly fast and would have helped to strike first and hopefully get on the front foot.

Screenshot_20200216_090609.jpg

If I had made these changes then I actually would have had a better attacking stat:

Pit Ogre = +4 melee (+5 adding summoner buff)

Cerberus & Cocatrice = +3 & +1 (+6 with summoner buff)

8DAuGnTQCLptHK3w4xbU3SMDsfFVWre2qvkWUixoMRzeeZqV2nMLWioXRtYqUkgnzaoBV3o4dapa3Pkeb4Ch89MRWCMYJKurev4vizcQcas9AETzphEfPbyMzjWjcTa22mSzSWu66ERQVkqWt7e2QUKXtJiwPFv7xDWqGU6tDpi.png

Regardless of which line up I picked, the result was inevitable... A comfortable win!

So what would you have done with this line up? How would you have improved it? Was my monster selection and positioning up to it?

As always your input is always welcome, good or bad.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7xrxoTjzPMfrxZLaowCbfj88F4VNjPJ4iBqEHEzQaoLPY1feTuPsTVMCJpYtZ3XBvBXh293PABj2GC386fnDHntzUTGPfU.png
Screenshot_20191130_075100.jpg

Sort:  

I love that you love to do these posts!
I also think it's super helpful.
For example, someone who may think they are good at strategy, like myself, would probably not have put the Exploding guy in 2nd... but only because I tend to think "put a squishy there with high health!"... to protect from sneakers and blasts. Yes, your bravery and know-how in your lineup lead you to glory!

Yesterday I played for a while just trying different things in different places. Needless to say, I lost a lot. 🤣
🥰@carrieallen


Woohoo!

You have been manually curated by the @splinterlands / @steemmonsters team for the SHARE YOUR BATTLE WEEKLY CONTEST!

Thank you for SHARING your Splinterlands content with the world! The more the merrier!

Enjoy your juicy upvote and keep creating excellent Splinterlands content!

We learn more from losing (a lot), than we ever will through constantly winning.

Thanks, as always, for the great work you do (and the team). Its always appreciated here 👍

You are absolutely right, dude! I learn from losing so many battles! Also, helps me decide which cards to level up (when I get the steem to buy me sone, LOL) and which ones perform well even at level 1! Great post, @welshatacker, I enjoyed learning from this article.
Have a great day, my friend and take care 🥰🌺🤙

Congratulations @welshstacker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99