Steem Monsters - Power Strategy Tips #3

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot (214).png

As I have now been playing Steem Monsters for nearly two-plus months now, and have wanted to contribute something of ACTIONABLE value to my fellow players (and future players) - but NOT fill my Steemit feed with daily images of quest rewards, after some serious pondering, I have decided that a weekly "Steem Monster Player Strategy Diary" type of series, with CONCISE and ACTIONABLE tips would be of most value to my audience. Please let me know your thoughts (good and/or bad), and I hope that readers (now and into the future) will benefit from this series. Also, feel free to hit me up on the battlefield...

@transcript-junky

  1. As I had quite a bit more difficulty reaching a higher Gold level last season, I ended up starting at Silver II level, which meant that a lot of my summoners AND regular cards were limited in their abilities until I was able to climb up a few levels. This made it more difficult to make progress climbing the levels. So I spend a few days stuck at the same level (Silver I) and getting a bit discouraged. Once I realized that I was stuck I decided to fall back on my alternative strategy of just simply focusing on playing the game (and learning through the PROCESS). When you are stuck it is an IDEAL time to learn more about your cards (their abilities) as you are forced to maximize their powers to slowly make wins. Experience can be equated to VALUE - just like developing the skill of computer programming, or carpentry (in the "real world") increases your value on the job market. It's" Economics 101".

  2. Related to #1, I decided that INSTEAD of focusing on climbing the levels - and taking more time to ACTUALLY COMPLETE the quests (in order to earn more reward cards with each quest completion - I decided it would be better to try and win the quests as quickly as possible - EVEN IF the number of rewards cards is lower at the lower levels). It's better to EARN the FEWER number of cards than to MISS OUT on earning ANY cards (by not completing the quests).

  3. The Drug Wars game was launched during this Steem Monsters Season 7, and a significant number of the members of my Steemit network were posting about their experiences. So I decided to divert some of my energy (grinding up from the lower levels on SteemMonsters) to start evaluating the Drug Wars game. I think this is a practical use of one's time.

  4. If/when you get discouraged when playing Steem Monsters (or ANY game for that matter) just use the age-old proven strategy of "taking a break". Missing out on a few days of play is not going to kill you. In fact, just like when weight training, you make significant gains on the REST days.

  5. I decided to make my quarterly sell of Bitcoin for Steem EARLY, as I was running low on Steem. That turned out to be a great move, as Steem has gone up considerably since I made the sell, AND I made a secondary goal to try to NOT use any/much Steem to buy (or level-up) cards until my INTENDED of the next quarterly sell (March 18th, 2019). As of writing this post I have succeeding it not spending ANY Steem on cards. But actually, the more important thing is that I strategically timed my BTC -> Steem sell (a few weeks early) to take advantage of price differential to get the MOST Steem in return for the sell. I think this is sound, but will now take this CURRENT quarter to be more convservative in pacing my buying and up-leveling of cards to stay on track with the "quarterly BTC -> Steem sell"

  6. I have been seeing A LOT of people talking about their main focus (and strategy) of playing Steem Monsters is "to make money". Those same people are also indicating frustration with the increasding difficulty level moving up the levels and/or earning new reward cards. As a marketing professional, I see MUCH MORE potential in viewing Steem Monsters as an excellent "blockchain gaming" CASE STUDY. I believe that this game is VERY WELL organized and administered, and there is A LOT that we can ALL learn by simply monnitoring and analyzing the evolution of the game and it's makreting effort, in the context of the wider blockchain gaming industry. If you view it this way then on any given day that you don't perform adequately, OR miss a day completely, OR only read a few posts from the #steemmonsters hashtag, you are STILL making gains from the game. In this way, it is a "no lose" situation, in my opinion.

I hope you find some/any of these tips useful in increasing your understanding and/or skill level in the game. More JUICY tips to come with each weekly update, as I become more experienced and successful in the game. All comments welcomed.

See you on the battlefield...

@transcript-junky

SteemMonsters  Affiliate Banner.gif

Sort:  

Agreed, @steemmonsters is not here to bring profit for everyone, it’s more of an awesome game on the steem blockchain that people can play and collect for fun, with real rewards at the same time!

Posted using Partiko iOS

you are so right about steem monsters being a great case study for crypto gaming as a whole. It is so frustrating to see mostly everyone go about it as just another investment. Very awesome post :D

I am an automatic upvote bot, only for #steemmonsters, #steemmonster. If i liked your post, you will get an upvote. Only for Steemmonsters. Once a day, i published the posts, that have recieved an upvote.

Hi, @transcript-junky!

You just got a 8.89% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77