Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 16 My Entry Kobold Miner

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

2018-09-23 22_29_45-Window.png

Kobold Miner

I have lived my live in the mines. I can’t remember when I was not working in them. My life looking for the metals that are used to build this world. I am suited for the dark and the cold my eyes glow golden and catch every speck of light. A simple candle is all I need and is like the day when I am down below. There is a fire that burns inside our blood that keeps me warm. That is why I am the best and have grown rich. My belly was always full and my pick always new. Then came the day my life took a turn that I never saw coming and yet I would never go back. I can’t go back as the world has changed.

I headed into the mind once the sun was bright in the sky. At last I could remove my goggles that protect my eyes from the sun. In the dark I felt my better. I went off to the area that I had from a great vine of gold. Most would have missed this speak that had lead me to it. It wasn’t long before I was filling my bags once again. That is when I heard it off in the distance a humming that called to me. The fire inside me heated up and I had to see what was going on. I was able to sneak up on them. I am quite good and getting around and as my eyes peered out I saw now a man no wait it is more than a man. His hair was of raging fire and it came from his arms and legs. His sink was dark red and the sound came from him. But all around him I saw them. Goblins, an Orge, a beetle with flames of his own. Others filled the room and he called out. “Step Forward from the darkness we all have a part to play”

I could not resist. His words had a power over me that I didn’t understand. I walked out and a few of the demons looked shocked as they didn’t know I was there. I learned on my pickax and asked “What are you doing down here?”

“The world is changed and we will need fire to burn away the rot. I put out my call and you that have answered are going to be the warriors to help me do it. My name is Malric Inferno and I will help each of you grow stronger than you are today. I will imbue you with my own power making you stronger than before and you will help me in my quest to purify this land. Do not doubt yourself as you all will play a part in the battles that are coming.”

Me a warrior sure I can fight anyone that lugs around as much gold as me learns to defend himself but what is this all about. Yet I could not bring myself to leave. There was a feeling inside that I could not ignore. Also now that we started to move out of the cave I could feel that I was faster and stronger than before. My pickax felt so light in my hands and I walked up to him. “You say we have parts to play but look around what can I do. I am half the size of so many of these warriors.” I waited for him to answer.

“Yet none but I could tell you where coming. You will see that are size will not matter as you will be a skilled warrior that can hide behind them and attack where they cannot. You will strike fast and hard at those that try to hide. For those eyes will see past anything they try distract us with.”

That night we got a taste of the blight that we faced. He was right. It would take fire to cleanse the land. Yet the fire he has imbued on all of us make us so fast and strong that we might just be able to do anything. Then the first battle came and well a lot change for me. The first time you see the warriors of death is not something you forgot. I took my place in the back a extra body on the field. Yet when I stuck I was to pass by the warrior in the front and strike down that Jester with the help of the beetle in inspired the others. To see such small soldiers defeating monsters helped to lead our team on.

“You see now what we face don’t you little Kobold. You know now why I need you. My power is great but at times I will only be able to summon you. So be ready to join us at all times. This is a gift for you. This candle won’t burn out like the others you have wore. I will go now but when I call you will come?”

I nodded as I took the gift. My gold isn’t any good in a world that is dead after all.

Flavored Text

On the field he is had to see but when he strikes you will remember it as it will ruin all your plans.

Sort:  

You have received a Steemmonsters upvote! This post has been upvoted by Steemmonsters Discord member, stever82.

Please find out more about Steemmonsters: https://steemmonsters.com/

did u buy this card????

I have bought booster packs so I own a few of this card it is a common one.

wow.that's great


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for the boost

Valiant effort. I am hoping to write a story for this one. I have written for every red card so far. I can't leave this one out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36