You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Need More Booster Packs? Do The Smart Thing And Save 20% On Packs! (Deprecated!)

Incorrect, they are definitely not offering it at cost. They are making a profit, even on packs they're selling for $1.60. I can show you, if you wish.

I was unaware of this fact. Please illustrate to me so I can be informed.

Sort:  

As you can see in block 27407018, SmartMonsters sends 1,281.314 STEEM (at that time worth $1000) to buy 575 packs (500 regular + 75 bonus):

A couple blocks after, in block 27407022, SmartSteem gets its Merchant Bonus of 128.131 STEEM (at that time worth $100), exactly 10% of the funds sent to purchase the packs:

That means they sent $1000, got back $100, so it cost them $900 to buy 575 packs.
Dividing the cost by the amount of packs gives: 900/575 = $1.565/pack. Selling at $1.60 gives them $0.035 per pack sale.

For smaller pack purchases, their profit margins only go up of course.

Wow. You did a great job explaining. I like the work you did. Thanks for taking the time.

I do happen to think that's a smart business strategy of them. And I am inclined to hold to my original position still, but this is interesting information, and I'm willing to hold off judgment until I see what they actually do.

OK. I've modified my opinion. If you read my comment on down the page, you'll see that I may actually agree with you, at least when it comes to the commission, if not with other items as well. They are basically behaving like a wholesaler, and as a general rule, wholesalers are not allowed to undercut their distributors. These types of contracts have different terms than the public. So, yes. You are right. A merchant commission should have terms and MSRP regulation, for several reasons, including artificially monopolizing the market, and artificially deflating the product value.

So this is what I came up with. Again, not an expert. Just finding out what I can. Let me know if this is what you were getting at.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47