The Legends of Splinterlands!


sllegends (702px, 10fps).gif
2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnFeRQinASdBqk5sC (1).png

Hello everyone! What a week is has been in the Splinterlands AKA Steem Monsters community! First, the huge SEEDit crowdfunding campaign started and then the season just ended as well. The SEEDit /TRON community are awesome indeed. The season ending night was a blast, everyone was battling to get their spot near the top for more rewards and booster packs. Congratulations to all the players out there, I hope you get some great rewards cards as well as packs! This week our Splinterlands Legend spotlight is on @sharkmonsters I was so happy to see @sharkmonsters up there in the #1 spot last week and had to ask them to be a Splinterlands Legend! What an amazing player, always around in Discord and Telegram helping out new players and making me laugh as well. I hope you enjoy the interview as we can get to know the players at the top a little better!

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnFeRQinASdBqk5sC (1).png

1.) Tell us a little bit about yourself and your background in gaming. Did you ever play magic or Hearthstone?

I am not and never have been a huge gamer, to be honest. I've never played Magic and I've never even heard of Hearthstone. I am a child of the 80s, but even in the 80s, I didn’t have a Nintendo. I had a Sega Master System for some reason. One of my favorite games for that was called Wonderboy III. I found an emulator version of that and played it for a bit recently, and it’s still fun to me.

I love side-scrolling and simple video games a lot more than newer, involved ones. One of my all-time favorite games is Mario Kart. The first Nintendo system I ever owned was the Nintendo 64, and I played that version of Mario Kart for thousands of hours in the 90s.

2.) Were you already on the STEEM blockchain or did you come here for Steem Monsters and how did you find out about Steem Monsters?

Another confession: when I first heard about Steem Monsters, I was not interested at all. I was already on Steem and into all things Steem, and saw all sorts of hype about Steem Monsters, but I just figured a collectible battle card game would not be up my alley. Oh, how wrong I was! Now I wish I’d gotten into it sooner because I’d probably have a whole lot more cards.

I think it was someone in the Canna Curate Discord server who said they really liked the game, and I decided to give it a shot. Although I didn’t understand it at ALL when I first started, I got hooked pretty quickly once I started to figure things out a bit. I started the @sharkmonsters account when I started playing Steem Monsters and it has become one of my biggest accounts. It’s nearing 1000 Steem Power already.

Screenshot 2019-04-16 17.38.53.jpg

3.) What kind of advice can you give any Steem Monster player who wants to improve their game?

I would say that a great way to come up with strategies is to keep a mental note of which cards people are using when they beat you. When I was starting out, that’s how I started to figure out which cards worked well in certain situations. Another thing that helps is just watching the top battles and seeing what the best of the best do. One thing to keep in mind, however, is that if you don’t have leveled up cards, yours may not have some of the same abilities that make them powerful at higher levels.

Another piece of advice is to spend time in the Discord server. Not only will people in there help you with strategy, but they’ll probably send you some cards. I’ve sent out cards to people who are just starting out.

X28 - Gold Dragon 2 (676px, 10fps) (1).gif

4.) What is your favorite Steem Monster card or splinter to play?

I love the Gold Dragon. That thing is fierce and can take out a bunch of monsters all on its own. So I guess that also means I like Selenia Sky. I remember when everyone considered that to be an overpowered card. That was before the Legendary Summoners came out, I suppose.

5.) When you are playing Steem Monsters is there anyone you do not want to run into?

Of course there are! One of them is @bji1203 because I swear he knows something about the game that no one else does. There are other people who will be at the top of the leaderboard, sometimes even above bji, that I seem to have more success against. I feel like I lose to @beeyou a lot because she’s really fond of 2-mana summoners and uses them often. I don’t have any of those at max level, so I pretty much only use them in tournaments, and will have trouble in lower mana matches with people who use them well.

6.) Do you play Steem Monsters and multitask or listen to music? Have a favorite playlist when battling?

Nothing against the music for the game, but I only have the basic sounds on. I am almost always listening to music in BlueTooth headphones that I wear basically all of my waking hours. Sometimes, I sit down and just play for hours, but a lot of times I’ll start a battle, and then do something else, and come back and just play battles throughout the day as I clean the house or do whatever else I need to do. I am the shipping department of a record label I run with two of my friends and former bandmates, so sometimes I’ll be packing up records in between battles.

When I get frustrated, which can happen quite frequently, I’ll take a break and maybe go on a long walk with my dog or something.

I listen to all sorts of music, from indie rock, to IDM and electronic stuff, to hip hop, to brutal metal. It just depends on my mood. I also really like soundtracks, and tend to listen to a lot of those when I play Steem Monsters. One of my favorites lately is the Mandy soundtrack by Jóhann Jóhannsson.

That was a great interview and I thank sharkmonsters so much for taking out the time to do it! We all appreciate it and love all the advice! Especially about getting frustrated and then going to take a walk, this is awesome advice and I will definitely use it! Also, it is funny as I think the same thing that @bji1203 that they know something about the game we all do not! LOL! Beeyou is a very great player too, so nice and helpful as well! I hope everyone has a great week and I will be back next week with another Splinterlands Legend! See you all in the battlefield!

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnFeRQinASdBqk5sC (1).png

Stone Golem (929px, 25fps).gif

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnFeRQinASdBqk5sC (1).png


Splinterlands Discord Group HERE

Splinterlands Official Facebook Group HERE

Splinterlands Official Facebook Page HERE

Splinterlands Official Telegram HERE

My IG - Splinterlands girl HERE

My YouTube Channel HERE

My Twitter HERE

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnFeRQinASdBqk5sC (1).png

sig.jpg

May the Monsters be with you.
Chris Love @clove71
Steem Monsters Splinterlands Rep.

Sort:  

It's great to know you better @sharkmonsters. We met many times on the battlefield but haven't "officially" met. Nice to meet you. :)

I'm also not a gamer so happy to see someone else in the same boat. For some reason, I like playing SM but darn, so many wasted hours playing when I'm on a losing streak. Lol, especially when someone puts a peaceful giant to counter my double snipe (ahem..looking at you) ;)

I don't have the new legendary summoners so you can always use them to counter my 2 mana summoners. :)

Nice interview! (It was Super Mario Bros for me growing up)

You two are both awesome players!! I got on a losing streak too, LOL! I think I played everyday for hours for so so long like months and months LOL! I need like a second to re group now :-) I gotta get my notes together and rememebr to not play when I am tired-
Mischievous Mermaid (802px, 10fps).gif

Sir many many thanks . Sir thats really amazing online game .. sir your post really helpful for income .
Sir i love your post because its a great game .
@kingrefat

Hi, @steemmonsters!

You just got a 0.51% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77