I'm not a Gamer. Why Should I Buy Steem Monsters Cards?

I'm not a Gamer. Why Should I Buy Steem Monsters Cards?


I don't play Magic the Gathering. I don't do Crypto Kitties. I think Pokemon is for dweebs who can't get past their childhood. And Dungeons and Dragons? What is this, the 80s? Now you're telling me I need to start collecting juvenile "monster" cards? Really? Give me a break. I'd like to know one good reason to start.

One Good Reason for Non-Gamers to Start Collecting Steem Monsters Cards Is...

Because it's not just a game. It's a tradable token. And tokens, by default, are designed to appreciate over time. It's sort of like collecting silver coins. Over time, they increase in value, especially if they are limited in supply, such as with the #steemsilverround. The difference with this token is that it's increase in value is not just reliant on time and limited supply, but other elements as well.

Steem Monsters "tokens" increase due to the following factors:

Steem Blockchain

Intrinsic token value based on the steem blockchain (think smart media token, without the smart contract). As steem value increases, so too, will steem monster cards.

Supply and Demand

  • The current plan is that we are currently distributing "alpha" phase cards. These will be discontinued at some point and will be unavailable except through trading and buying. Then we will release the "beta" phase deck. At this point, alpha card decks should increase in value as demand increases and supply is limited.

  • Similar to production phase limits, there is a limit to how many of each card goes into circulation or "print" during any given phase. Collectors must wisely gather cards they believe are more rare or difficult to collect.

  • "epic" and "legendary" cards have a higher intrinsic value because they are more rare, but there are other ways a card can gain value.

Game Value

Monster cards are currently being purchased with actual money and cryptocurrencies on the market. Certain cards have greater killing, healing, or summoning strengths. Some users might ammass high numbers of a lower value card to create an army. In either case, strategy in card collecting brings a higher point value to the tournaments because they help the player win. Better cards, or better use of lower cards, can earn points, rankings, and actual money!

Trading Value

Some users will not play at all, but simply collect cards for their tradable value. They might go on the Mt. Mox Monster Market on the Steem Monsters Discord Channel and trade, buy, sell, auction, or swap their cards. If you check out the market, you will see these cards have monetary value, and third party users such as @davemccoy and @clove71 have already plunged themselves into the "broker" role of aiding in clean transactions.

Witness Value

When @aggroed and @yabapmatt set out to design this game, a contributing factor to their approach was their attachment to the steem blockchain. They are both notable witnesses on steemit, and both are heavily involved in many of the products and programs that have improved this place we all love so much.

The Steem Monsters game is a reflection of their dedication to this platform. They could have built it anywhere. They built it here. Their desires for the success of the game and the success of the steem platform go hand in hand.

As they put in their efforts to improve the game, they also improve the platform and the value of the steem dollar, which in turn increases the value of the game cards, etc.

A Tradable Token

Whether you buy, sell, trade, collect, or store up to build armies for the tournament, Steem Monsters cards are a multi-faceted, tradable token. It's not just a game anymore.

Sort:  

please I do not know why i was ban from steemmonster discord after the results for the templates were announced. Does it mean if i did not scale through the template stage then i should be kicked out of steemmonster's discord?

There has not been a way to battle yet, and still Steem Monsters have been very popular! So it seems to me that this can only get more attention and popularity when the battle ability launches soon. I say get a starter pack for only $5 and a few booster packs for only $2 each, payable in crypto like Steem and SBD. I think you'll be happy you did! :)

That's my thinking precisely!

This is eye opening. Hadn’t loooked at it this way before. Now I’m going to buy more. Thanks for the info 😊

Glad to hear it! In my opinion, these will be worth a lot someday. I like to think I'm a little ahead of the game by completing my "alpha" set as soon as possible. Even if I don't have a ton of cards, at least I have a decent amount.

If you are not a gamer and love STEEM, I think here is your chance to change that! Like many did already, because it is an incredible investment opportunity, besides the fact that you can get rewarded by playing (through tournaments).

I'm so pumped to play that I want to level up the monsters right away; but right now it's impossible to level them up, is that right, since games haven't started? Or maybe I missed something...

You can level them up. All you have to do is combine like-cards. Some people are waiting to level up, for trading purposes. But if you plan to play, and don't want to trade, then leveling up is the way to go!

Oh, I see now, thank you! This explains a lot, haha

And I believe that it will only increase in value!!

Frankly Thanks to @yabapmatt and @aggroed for this big achievement which is highly commendable much appreciations. Thank you all.

It's always good to go through your posts.. everything is so perfectly done in your blogs be it the photography, the content or the way of your presentation.

I love to see more blogs from you, followed you :)

Not sure if you would get some time to go through our blogs about personality development as well , and suggest if anything can be improved -
https://steemit.com/mgsc/@wsmart/personality-development-series-tip-6

I’m down to try this out. Where do I buy said monsters?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95