You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Monsters Tech Talk - Steem Blockchain Integration

I have to agree with @mysearchisover, you are a genius @yabapmatt
I was wondering, what happens if my keys get compromised and I need to change my keys - how do you deal with that ? On Bitcoin and ethereum, if one loses the private key the ownership if whatever that key was associated with is lost, but steem has worked hard to prevent that hard link.

Sort:  

@sorin.cristescu If you lose your master password for your Steem account that can never be recovered. If you lose your private keys those can be generated from your master password. If your keys get stolen you can change them using your master password. If your master pass or owner key gets stolen you can recover your account using Steem's built-in account recovery mechanism.

Thanks @yabapmatt - my question was related to the steemmonsters: if I change my posting key, what happens to my steem monsters? I understood that the association is between a card and my posting key, is that correct ? So if I change my posting key, does the game (your database) know to change the association from my old posting key to my new posting key ?

Also, unrelated, is there a post where the principles of the "built-in account recovery mechanism" are explained ? I would like to understand how it works.

TIA

Oh, sorry I misunderstood! Your steem monsters cards are in no way tied to your posting key. We never get or store your private keys in any way. They are associated only with your steem account name so as long as you log in with whatever is the currently valid posting key on your account all of your cards will still be there!

As for the account recovery mechanism, I don't have a link off hand, but I would just try googling it and I bet you can find some good info. Might also be some good info in the whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77