You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Season 6 Updates and Balance Changes!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

I saw it yesterday, and I also saw the annoyed reactions that were posted (actually, I saw only one, because I passed by only quickly)

I'm glad to hear that at least some of the mavs are concerned about the fact that the game is way too top-heavy.

But you caught me at a wrong time. I just had a short conversation with Matt, and it became clear to me that the lower level players are the least of their concerns....

I'm going to give up the fight for equal rights or fair distribution. I'm done with it...

Sort:  

I'm going to give up the fight for equal rights or fair distribution. I'm done with it...

Now you're simply talking about opponents to your/rentmoney's plan as horrible people, which is not what's happening. Percentage-wise, the lower players already get much more than the higher players.

@pizzachain, I got the advice not to go into discussion with you. Still, I'm willing to spend my time giving you another tip:

Don't jump to conclusions when you don't know the entire story. ;0)

Don't jump to conclusions when you don't know the entire story. ;0)

You accuse me of things I don't do, unless there is a misunderstanding here. I find that quite an ironic statement...

I got the advice not to go into discussion with you.

Alright mate, that's good advice :)

hahaha, you're funny.

You're accusing me of the following:

Now you're simply talking about opponents to your/rentmoney's plan as horrible people, which is not what's happening.

If you ask me, that's a conclusion. And a wrong one. lol

"Don't jump to conclusions when you don't know the entire story."
What part of the story didn't I know, @iamthegreat?

Oops! Wrong account, lol.
Too long a story to tell. Or longer than I want to spend time on. Just take it from me that I never think about people as being horrible.
Well,... almost never, lol.
Definitely not inthis case.

I've learned from experience that you need to know when you've lost a battle and that it is a waste of energy to keep fighting. So I'm letting go and move on...

I already explained to you why your reasoning for that statement is wrong. Via our debates : You based it on, those with less cards in their collection already get a higher percentage of free rewards then those with more cards in their collection so those with less already get more. This reasoning can't be applied to SM because players can have lots of cards and be playing the lower levels and vise versa..... Players can have few cards and be playing the higher levels.

Take a look at these cuts. A blind man can see they are unfair.

Silver
60-20% less rewards daily
40% less rewards at end of season.

Diamond
33-6.33% less rewards daily
25% less rewards at end of season.

Champion
20-0% less rewards daily
20-0% season less rewards at end of season..

The founders are trying to sell packs with 5 cards in them for $2 and at the same time giving away up to 20 cards a day for free in the daily. Its easy to see why pack sales have come to a crawl. The whole daily quest system needs to be reworked. The cards shouldn't be seen as rewards for those who already have. They should be seen as a tool to onboard new players who can earn cards for free and then move on to buying Alpha and Beta cards once they get hooked on playing the game with the rewards cards. No-one should be getting 20 free cards a day. I would even argue that no-one should be getting 10 free cards a day.

I already explained to you why your reasoning for that statement is wrong. Via our debates : You based it on, those with less cards in their collection already get a higher percentage of free rewards then those with more cards in their collection so those with less already get more. This reasoning can't be applied to SM because players can have lots of cards and be playing the lower levels and vise versa..... Players can have few cards and be playing the higher levels.

Yeah, so as I said in Discord, what you say here is just total non-sense and obviously just you trying to hide your "I disagree to disagree!" mentality.

Take a look at these cuts. A blind man can see they are unfair.

Silver
60-20% less rewards daily
40% less rewards at end of season.

Diamond
33-6.33% less rewards daily
25% less rewards at end of season.

Champion
20-0% less rewards daily
20-0% season less rewards at end of season..

The founders are trying to sell packs with 5 cards in them for $2 and at the same time giving away up to 20 cards a day for free in the daily. Its easy to see why pack sales have come to a crawl. The whole daily quest system needs to be reworked. The cards shouldn't be seen as rewards for those who already have. They should be seen as a tool to onboard new players who can earn cards for free and then move on to buying Alpha and Beta cards once they get hooked on playing the game with the rewards cards. No-one should be getting 20 free cards a day. I would even argue that no-one should be getting 10 free cards a day.

Currently, the reward cards are too strong to miss out on. You can make really strong decks with them and the top players can use them in various situations as well. The problem is that if you cut all rewards for the top players, they'll have to resort to using alts to get them in the lower leagues...

I feel like reward cards need a nerf... And once that nerf happened, maybe it can all be balanced a bit better, but getting the larger players to get almost the same amount of reward cards as lower players is not the solution. It would have to come paired with other semi-solutions in order to create one well-functioning, balanced system.

Yeah, so as I said in Discord, what you say here is just total non-sense and obviously just you trying to hide your "I disagree to disagree!" mentality.

The above statement describes you perfectly. You are a smart young man but have allot to learn about debating. I will help you out, your counter point has potential to be a valid counter point but your reasoning behind its validity is straight out wrong which weakens your argument greatly.

You make allot of valid points in the rest of your statement and I agree with allot of it but there is some misinformation provided as well.

Currently, the reward cards are too strong to miss out on. You can make really strong decks with them and the top players can use them in various situations as well.

I agree with all of that.

The problem is that if you cut all rewards for the top players, they'll have to resort to using alts to get them in the lower leagues...

I don't think anyone said in this topic to cut all rewards for top players. We are asking for a more fair reward distribution. As you and I both know ..... most already have alt accounts and a person can only play so many of them.

I feel like reward cards need a nerf... And once that nerf happened, maybe it can all be balanced a bit better, but getting the larger players to get almost the same amount of reward cards as lower players is not the solution. It would have to come paired with other semi-solutions in order to create one well-functioning, balanced system.

I agree with allot of that as well but again no-one is saying to give the top the same as the bottom or near the same. 15 - 1 is not near the same. Its not even close to being near the same.

A well balanced system is what everyone wants and is what I and others are arguing for. As I said numerous times ... SM biggest issue is its generosity. 20 cards for free while trying to sell 5 for $2 makes absolutely no sense. All my other points are well documented and I don't feel like going over the same things again. SO please try not to " disagree to disagree!" as I don't plan on responding to anything that distracts from the main topic or anything that requires me to go over my points with you yet again.

Loading...

And how does the onboarding of new players go? I mean... if I remember correctly, I saw some stats about pack sales and new users in the mav's house. It could be I missed it, but I haven't seen any stats since. While I'm actually really interested in how they are doing when it comes to attracting new players (not alts).

I assume it is not a priority yet, since they are still tweaking and trying to find the right balance. But since they've posted an announcement that they were looking for advertisers and sponsors, I think expanding the userbase is either happening, or at least should become a priority.
The fact that they need bots to make sure that the gameplay isn't interrupted, because "there aren't enough people playing at every level on any moment during the day" (not an assumption of mine, but a quote from Matt), doesn't sound like they are onboarding a lot of people.

(I'd really love to see some stats, about everything, to get a better ida of how things are developing. Just out of curiosity)

I agree that the reward cards would indeed serve a better purpose when used to make new players hooked and get them to buy packs, definitely now the reward cards - once all are released - ar going to be a worthy deck...

But again, my battle about things being fair or not, or if things are a smart or a not so smart thing to do is over. It's their game, so they do as they please. I'm not a mav, so whatever I say doesn't matter. And the only thing I achieve is getting into endless discussions and getting downvoted.

Time to let go and move on. There is no use in wasting energy trying to change things I can't change. So for the moment, I don't care anymore about who gets how many reward cards or no reward cards at all. I'm just going to play my games for fun, cutting down on the time I spend doing so. That will give me a chance to become more active in the community again. Planning to keep my highest deck in place, and thinking of putting up everything else up for sale.

I don't have any energy left to waste on a game. There are plenty of other things, more important things, that are worth the energy I've been putting in.

And how does the onboarding of new players go?

From my understanding the founders have an idea of a budget they want to use on advertising. Both are smart guys so I am sure they have some things planned.

I do have some ideas on how to better the affiliates system and how to better use the free rewards cards to onboard new players but that requires a much higher percentage then the current 5 % offered for successful affiliates and a reconstruction of how the reward cards are distributed.

Being a maverick is overrated. Everyones voice counts but the guys who spent thousands will have a louder voice then those who didn't. .. Sadly that is how the world works. That doesn't mean others suggestions or opinions go unheard.

I am just about done as well with arguing my points as I voiced my opinion and that is about all anyone can do. Its up to the founders to make the decision on what they think is best.

I agree. It's up to them. We know only a fraction from what they have planned or what their idea for the game is.

I just catched up with the conversations in the mavs house. Your post about the rewards, the discussion about gambling... lol! Compared to you, I have nothing to complain about when it comes to arguing. ;0)

Yeah, I tend to have not very popular opinions among some but now is the time to voice them as the game develops.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34