My Personal Steem Monsters Happenings

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

I've not played a ton of Steem Monsters the past few weeks. But with the close of the current season upon us, I figured it was time for an update.

Daily Quests

Lately I've played just enough to get my daily quest pack. I haven't opened anything too exciting, but I've slowly been building up my betas, and I've sold a few cards that were semi-valuable, but not much use to me for playing.

The ability to get a new quest once a day has been a huge help. I used to get stuck whenever I got the water splinter quest, but now I can roll the dice on a new one. As I climbed the ladder through doing daily quests over the past few weeks, this has been immensely helpful, so thanks to the SM team for implementing this.

Purchased Packs

I recently bought some beta packs from @themanwithnoname, and was very pleased with the results. In the interest of not burying the lead, I'll show you the best thing I got first.

Screenshot_20181209-003514~2.png

This is by far the most valuable card I've ever opened in a pack. I don't have a lot of use for it as a player, so if you're interested in buying it, shoot me a comment. I may list it on the market eventually.

I also got a couple Cyclopses, which let me level him up. I don't use it often, but when I do it'll be nice to have the extra numbers.

Screenshot_20181209-002621~2.png

Screenshot_20181209-002853~2.png

League Play

Screenshot_20181210-195007~2.png

Today I made a run at seeing how high I could go in league play, and got up to Gold II before I lost interest. I've noticed that on each successive season I finish lower and lower. I think this means that they've done a good job of refining the card abilities and scores to even things out among similarly leveled cards.

It's pretty hard to find a combination of cards that works all the time. The only thing I can see that seems close to an automatic win is if you're running a Flesh Golem, Earth Elemental, and Spirit of the Forest, all leveled high enough to have Heal. But since I don't have all of those cards, it doesn't do me much good.

As far as I can tell, the game, by design, is structured such that if you have better cards, you win. The thing I liked about Magic is that it was very possible to win using all Commons. The trick was finding the right combinations to use. With SM, there aren't enough cards, or hands-on gameplay for combinations to matter too much. I can't tell you the amount of times I've run against the exact same team I'm running, save for a difference in card levels. Hopefully as more cards and abilities are introduced, this will get better. I'm excited to see what the recently announced Reward Edition cards will introduce for season 4.

Sort:  

I realized that I wasn't following you for some reason. You don't do excessive resteems and have interesting content, so I don't know how I wasn't. That has been rectified.

Glad you ended up getting something good out of the packs! That's a nice card that if you use could get you ahead, or you can sell and beef up some of your other cards.

I've been trying to get up the ladder too, but it gets harder each time. It's going to be even tougher when they stop giving out booster packs and just do the specific cards for daily quests. Bye, bye, free beta booster packs!

Thanks for the follow! The only situation I could see jarlax being useful in is Silenced Summoners. Other than that, I feel like a -1 on Melee is worth the extra mana point.

The new reward cards have some interesting abilities, but with only 10 new cards, there will be so many of each out there that they won't be worth very much. I also think that we're going to be in Beta for a long time.

@methus Yes as Things Go Forward Steemmonsters will get more and more interesting because of different Card Combinations..............

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for using CryptoSicko the sickest delegation and subscription upvoting on Steemit. Full details can be found at @steemcryptosicko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48