How to sponsor your own Steemmonsters tournament, in only a few minutes

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

In preparation for automated tournaments on the site; @aggroed and @yabapmatt have asked the Mavericks (those who've bought more than 500 packs) to test the feature before it goes live on the main site.

image.png

I've gone through the process of setting up and sponsoring a tournament (Steem prize money provided by the devs); and found it simple and self explanatory.

The idea that anyone can buy some Steem on an exchange and host their own tournament, with logos and naming rights, at the cost of $2 (plus prizes), is revolutionary.

Imagine you're launching a token and want to get some exposure. You could pay a heap of money for banner ads on coinmarketcap etc, or you could drop that same amount as prize money on a tournament.
Players are going to see your logo while browsing tournaments, they're going to see it again while they're playing, and when they upload and share their epic battles, their audience are going to see it too; and they're all going to like you for it.

This is an incredible development, not just for steemmonsters, not just for steem, but for the entire crypto eco-system; I can't wait to see what people do with it.

See you on the battle field.

Sort:  

Yes, this is a great development.
It is key for successful Steem projects like Steem Monsters to bring in new users outside Steem to continue their growth. And this is a great way to do it!
I'm hoping to have time to actually compete in a tournament one of these days.
I only get to even do my daily quest occasionally these days.
Too busy with @jpbliberty's Class Action against Facebook & Google's Crypto Ad Ban and Utopian.

Very straightforward, that's what we like to see :)

Adding a logo is a small but potentially important touch, promotion of an event/business/self always much better with an image/logo.

Looks like I need to sort my deck out, they are a disorganised bunch at present!

I might actually have to take a serious look at Steem Monsters at some point. My free time seems to just run away from me at the moment.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you do the daily challenges, it's actually a fair amount of time... obviously you'd do other things.. but sometimes it's taken me over an hour to finish the daily quests.

If steem has a DM system, I haven't found it yet, just saying thank you for the Delegated Steem Power! I've rather focused on putting content into Steem, need to spend a bit more effort finding good content here to share on.

Happy to help, mate. If you're on discord I'm mattclarke#6202
Steem's an incredible tool, but still a little rough around the edges. If you have questions, just ask.

Yes, thanks @mattclarke for delegating to @brianoflondon. He is a great addition to Steem with a huge following on other social media and his own site.
I'm glad he is finally "getting it" regarding Steem.
He was super impressed with the ease of issuing Steem Engine Tokens, which @jpbliberty just did for the Crypto Class Action.

To be honest Discord is even more of a mess but I'll send you a DM there. My friend (IRL) @apshamilton inducted me into the world of Steem but it's taken me a while to find my way around.

I really like how that is designed. Can’t wait to start entering a bunch of them once it goes live!

It'll be interesting to see how many are free and how many are paid.
Charities could get on board. 20 Steem entry fee, top five win their entry fee back.

That’s awesome! Been waiting for this for a while now.
I’ve just joined your tournament. Was just wondering what timezone are the tournaments in? I.e. what time does your tournament actually start? Cheers mate.

Thanks. Good luck :)
Excellent question. The time and date field said "local time" and I went for 11pm Aussie central.
The tournaments page only appears to have a countdown timer, which is probably a good workaround.

Cool nice, thanks for clarifying mate. I will try to stay awake for it. :)

The tournaments tab shows the time/date next to each, local time too, which is helpful.
image.png

Thanks mate. That’s very cool that they have it in the local time. Looking forward to my first tournament tonight. :)

You're going to be running tournies on top of everything else you're already doing then? :D

Path of exile race is up again soon; 8th of March :)
I don't plan on running many tournaments personally; but I'm happy to test out the idea for the guys; its interesting to see the process in action, too.

I'll let @gorc know in case he decides he wants to try it out :D (he may chicken out again XD)

Was gonna say, you're already doing a lot where would you fit more tournaments in O_O

I've only been in one tournament, and really enjoyed it despite being seriously under-leveled.

It was a gloriously chaotic mess though, with some people not in the discord and not answering game requests, etc... I personally didn't mind, and had a lot of fun but I guess if there's a good amount of money on the line you'd want it to be pretty solid.

Yeah I've loved all the enthusiasm for manual tournaments, but it's been bedlam. Which player sends the challenge; which discord its all being co-ordinated in. Which league is it in, with which cards etc.
This automation will make a huge difference.
Trying to put myself in the sponsor's shoes; one tweak I'd like to see is a credit card payment option.
Total prize money is 1000 STEEM, tournament fee is $2 - Click here to pay 1015 STEEM or send $312 via VISA or Mastercard here..

This is going to make tournaments much simpler.
Thanks for the sneak peek!

I know a lot of people have been really keen to see this aspect of the game up and running. Hoping we don't find any major issues during testing; I know Matt's previously suggested we're on track for sometime in Feb, and there's not much Feb left.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14