Hello, Steemmonsters World! My Thoughts and Initial Gameplay Result

in #steemmonsters4 years ago (edited)

Prologue

I cannot believe that so much has happened on Steemit since I’ve been away for a few days. Justin Sun’s purchase of Steemit, Inc. caught me by surprise and has brought anxiety to the community because of some misplaced communication a few days ago. And, while a newbie, I believe that this is a remarkable event and mind blowing for all of us. After all, who is Justin Sun? And why did he invest in Steemit, Inc.? But, that is another post for later. So...

image 1.jpg

So, on to my post… I just discovered Steemmonsters and have been playing almost every day for the past two weeks. In fact, I recently finished my first season.

I'm not really a gamer, but when I was a kid, I loved collecting “text” cards in the Philippines. We collect, exchange, trade, and sell these cards; the rarer, the higher the value. It’s the same with Steemmonsters. Except that SM is built on a blockchain so you own of the cards, which you can sell, trade, give away or even loaned to other players on the platform for some extra cash, which is very similar to what I did when I was a little boy in the rural areas of Laguna where I grew up.

Playing the different Splinters, I sometimes get lost: it’s a lot to digest at the onset. But racking up playing time and experience, I soon got the hang of it and finished the season at Silver 1 where I got 18 Loot Chests containing an assortment of cards, potions, etc..

image 2.jpg

The Verdict

As a card game, it does not disappoint. The story line is awesome and well thought out, the cards are diverse and collectible, and players have many chances of owning through purchase or by winning it via Season Rewards, PvP Battles, Quests, and trading. Players can join Guilds, participate in Events and even become sponsors. It was a blast. I had a lot of fun and earned a few cards and tokens along the way. The $10 bucks I paid was worth it and I can say for sure that the value-for-money works.

After only one season of playing Steemmonsters, I can honestly say that it is a great game. Players will be tested based on game-play strategy, overall game philosophy, and tactical approach to a particular game itself; taking into consideration the opponent, Mana cap and Rules of Combat. It’s one of the more interesting games I’ve played in a while and will surely continue to play and hopefully become good at with time.

“After making all the mistakes, every player has a chance to turn the outcome of the game around by making the right moves next.” - Zoltan Andrejkovics

That's it for now. Thanks for dropping by and reading up to this point. I would like to invite you to try out this wonderful game. And, please leave a comment if you love playing Splinterlands, and online games in general, and maybe give me some good advice. An upvote would be nice, too! Haha. All the best everyone!

Sort:  

Congratulations @juanvegetarian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks @steemitboard. Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37