Our Steem Monsters Game Jam Game!!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Capture.PNG


If anyone is not familiar with what a game jam is...let me say they are fucking hard!
The objective is to take a theme and create a video game in a very short period of time.
Oftentimes, the results are barely fleshed out demos.


I always like the opportunity to make something with my son.
For a teenager, he's a pretty talented coder.
I asked if he was interested, knowing that most of the time we had available to do this,
he would be in school, he said yes and off we went.
I immediately set off to come up with a concept and a way we could execute it.
With the help of @lunaticmoon creating the art and @bigredd knocking out the audio...
we just barely got something playable in time.


The game is available to play in browser here...

https://fhpdx.itch.io/steem-monsters-game-jam



My son coded this in C# using the Unity game engine.
It is open source and the code can be found here...

https://github.com/Nidaoke/Steem-Jam2



We will be polishing it up over the weekend and there will be a boss added sometime tonight.
(edit...boss is now working in game..not finished but working)
Give it a try and let us know what you think.


While you are there...take a look at the other entries as well...you can find them here...
https://itch.io/jam/steem-monsters-1000-invitational

Thanks to @steemmonsters for putting this together,
as well as
@utopian-io
@blocktrades
&
@steemgg
for adding to the prize pool.

Sort:  

Thanks for the contribution, @jonny-clearwater. First of all it's very cool what you've created in such a short amount of time, huge props to everyone involved! I especially like the aesthetic and atmosphere of the game.

Since it wasn't really made clear from the game jam announcement that Utopian contributions should follow certain guidelines I won't be too nitpicky, but I would still like to point out a few things and give some tips/hints:

  • Without an open source licence the project technically isn't open source - you should add one to the repository.
  • It's normal to have some information and usage/installation instructions in the README of a project so that others know what the project is about and how they can run it locally, for example.
  • You should commit more often and try to summarise the changes in the message. Stuff like "Initial commit" or "1st Commit" doesn't give any indication of what was added in the commit. Examples for your game could be "Updates AI of X" or "Adds boss". I would recommend checking out this guide on how to write good commit messages.
  • Most of the comments in the code are commented out snippets of code and not things that actually improve the readability. It's better to leave those out and explain the more intricate parts of your code so other developers (or yourself in a few weeks, trust me, I've been there!) can understand what's going on.

You mentioned on Discord that contributing on Utopian is something your son might be interested in doing more often. If he has more stuff like this up his sleeves he should definitely do that! Something that might be useful to him is reading this guide that was written by one of our moderators on what we expect from development contributions and what we base our review on.

I look forward to seeing what else you guys come up with!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I'll be passing all this along to my son.
Thanks!

Thank you for your review, @amosbastian!

So far this week you've reviewed 8 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Great game design, music, and feel for only 12 hours of work. Like I say in the video I'm about to share, very impressive Game Jam. Some enemies like the "swamp guy" can be difficult to beat(even tho jonny says its easy mode right now, not that I disagree xD but it took me some tries to finish it) which I really enjoy; nothing better than the rewarding feeling of beating a hard game.

Boss battle: 41:49

https://dlive.io/video/danielcosmos/c2410e42-ada6-11e8-bdf2-0242ac110003

Thanks so much for playing it @danielcosmos
For someone that loves retro games as much as you do, your thoughts are very meaningful!

Thanks for playing!

Hey guys I played a lot of the games in the Game Jam, I spent more time on the game Jonny, his son, and I made, but I get to the boss at 49:50 and beat it!! Come check it out :)

https://dlive.io/video/bigredd/dfd6eba9-ad4a-11e8-91f1-0242ac110003

Glad you enjoyed. Super cool you did the audio for it.
You had no idea what the game was gonna look like or play like, but just through communicating on discord we got the right feel for the tunes. Thanks so much Red!

anytime! lemme know if you make another game :)

I really like the music, best feature in my opinion!

Ohh ohh ohh. Accosted by shirtless men!

hahahahahaha

Pretty awesome. What version of Visual Studio is he using?

Hey @grey580,

You shouldn't need Visual Studio if you're developing in Unity.
It's an all encompassing development platform... check it out.

Cheers,
OFI-sig.JPG

ok cool. I didn't know that. I've only seen it used with VS.

https://visualstudio.microsoft.com/vs/unity-tools/

he's using VS Community 27

I like the game and the music behind it! I tried it today on Whack Streams on @dlive and I really had fun. I thought I am not a type of gamer for these kinds of games but this little game proved me wrong!

Now I can't wait for the new update and hopefully I will be given another opportunity to try it :)

Have fun with the updates and see ya around! Much love to y'all!

Drop the link to the video of it and give us a time mark so people can see you play it. Thanks for playing btw and really glad you enjoyed it!

Indeed, I will. tnx :)

If anybody is interested to see the game, click the link below. I started playing it at 1:30:00 :)

https://dlive.io/video/whack.science/537cc67b-ad0b-11e8-9c9f-0242ac110003

It was hard for me at the beginning but I was able to get to da BOSS at the end, but didn't kill him :D Anyone thinks it's easy? Go and try it and give @jonny-clearwater a feedback!

@jonny-clearwater i really like this music this is best in my opinion good work keep it up.

Good work on the game jam! The art was so slick.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73