Travelling With Steem Monsters

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

I was introduced to Steem monsters in a way that I will always remember. It is one of my most cherished moments here. Here is how it went down.

A few months ago, @whatageek made a post that he needed a few booster packs and could any of us send him a few as a gift and obviously he promised to reimburse the cost. Here is his original post:

Before this I had only heard of Steem monsters, but I had never visited their website or checked them out. So, I decided that maybe I can help a fellow Steemian (and get an upvote 😉) and went on to check the Steem monsters website and immediately liked what I saw.

I have never played, traded or participated in any manner of online card games. So, I went ahead and bought a starter pack. After ogling at my cards for a while, I remembered @whatageek’s original request and went back to his post and this is how our conversation went:

The fact is that I had never been trusted like this before on Steemit. At that time, I had only been following @whatageek for a few weeks. His trust in me (a stranger in all sense and purposes) felt awesome. Not to mention the fact that I was well compensated for my troubles. The fact is that his trust was something that helped me understand, that the people here on Steem Blockchain have a very different set of values than from other places on internet. I knew then, that I would be able to find myself a space here on this platform.

Since that day I was kind of hooked, not just for the game but also for the community that would eventually play it in the coming tournament. Playing a game is one thing but the people you are playing with are the ones that can truly breath life into a game. The game hasn’t even started yet, but I can say for sure that I adore the people that are here to be a part of it.

Then there is another thing that I am loving about this game. You can treat it as a game, but it is also an investment for the future. I mean why invest in an ICO, when you can invest in Steem monsters. You can play the game if you like it or just be an investor or you can get the best of both the worlds and do both.

I basically consider Steem monsters as a game and an investment. Steem monsters is no mediocre investment opportunity. We have reached more than a hundred thousand packs for just two thousand starter packs. If the price of Steem rise to four dollars by the time September ends, I think that half a million booster packs won’t be an impossible target. When everything is said and done, this card game is going to breath hundreds and thousands of dollars (if not millions) in the Steem Blockchain during this year and the next. The future is going to be awesome!

As of now I have bought maybe around 60 or more packs. In terms of money that is more than one fourth the total value of my wallet (Steem +SBD). Although not very big but this is a sizeable investment for me. I am also trying to win and buy as many booster packs as possible. My next target is to get my hands on a hundred more packs before the tournament begins.

Apart from my running around to gather booster packs, I have also seen some truly awesome artwork and stories written by fellow Steemians. One of the best stories so far was @road2nowhere’s background story about the Twisted Jester. I am not sure why I liked it so much, but perhaps it was one of the early written scripts and that’s why it stayed with me. The story has horror/thriller genre written all over it. The haunting after effect that it has on the reader is like a work of a genius…………. My favorite!

I was a little disappointed that my other favorite characters didn’t get something as awesome as this. The best part is that the Twisted Jester became one of favorites after reading the story. There are other cards as well, that I fell in love with just by looking at them. Gold Dragon was one such card. I actually posted a poem about it when I got my first Gold Dragon card 😊

My Steem monsters journey has been a lot of fun till now. The thing is that the game hasn’t even started and yet I am pumped. Not really sure what would happen to me once we start playing…. just kidding!

People keep saying – ‘To the moon!’. To them I say, ‘To the Splinterlands!’

Since the games haven't started yet, so I have been playing with Steem monsters in my own way. Here is an abstraction of a monster I wanted to be included in the set (its just a dream ). His name is Meditating Balrog:

meditate.png



Here is another one. His name is Stoned Golem:

Sort:  

That is an awesome story @hashcash !

I was initially skeptical of steem monsters. I find games appealing and do like the collectibility aspect of it.

Thank buddy :-)

I hope you too have collected a few cards as well. September is going to be epic!

The STEEM blockchain truly continues to evolve into a great ecosystem with something for everyone. Someone who I brought to STEEM has been asking me about this as he loves gaming in general but I have not looked into much but it seems that it is time to do so. Honestly sounds better than Crypto Kitties.

Give it a try my man! Who knows you might like it. The community surrounding this game is awesome and not to mention that opening booster packs is quite an addictive task :-)

I played Magic the Gathering and I know how addictive opening boosters can be. That is the reason that I am away from Steemmonsters. I don't want to spend thousands of steems instead of powering up and, knowing myself, I can see a future where I will be powering down to have steem to buy boosters.

Ha ha! Man I totally get that :-)
I blew half my SBD buying booster packs. First few opens were just to check out and most of the later ones were basically me succumbing to the lure of getting Legendary and Epic cards.

I guess in the long run its a good investment for me because even if hadn't played an online card game before but I really want to try this one and the cards have a very good chance of appreciating in value if the game kicks off in big way. I look at it this way - if nothing else, then at least I get to play the game. Have to play my first somewhere, so why not on the blockchain :-)

I've played MTG too, and I know it's very addictive, but with that experience you have, I don't know how you aren't getting into Steem Monsters, there are giveaways, contests of writing and so everywhere, so you can obtain some cards for free as an invesment, if you know the firsts days of MGT their cards went super valued over time. Today a Black Lotus it's a real treasure, I think that this is an unique opportunity, especially for those who knows how these games must be played.

Congratulations @hashcash! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59385.33
ETH 2590.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48