Steemmonsters - Website Suggestions and Story Ideas

If you haven't visited (or heard about) https://steemmonsters.com (@steemmonsters) yet, I suggest that you take a look. It's quite an interesting and fun concept, and if you're a dedicated Steemian like many of us, you'll be extremely excited to see all of the progress and effort that's being put into this endeavor.

@aggroed and @yabapmatt have been building this site for quite some time and it's coming along well.

I know that I'm not a big somebody, but since this is the blockchain, and we're a community here, I thought that I would share some of my suggestions for improving the user experience with @steemmonsters!

Improvements to the Webpage / Story Ideas:

The webpage is your first interaction with consumers. It can be argued that having a complete webpage is nearly as important as having a complete set of monsters. With that said, here are things that I think can be added with minimal effort and I feel would provide maximum benefit:

  1. Add a "Meet the Monsters" // Introduce "Who are the Monsters" Section
    -- Even if this content is still under development, the big-hit here is to show someone who doesn't have any monsters that there is a plan. Not everyone is going to visit the Steemit blog and read through all of the wonderful work that's been posted about @steemmosters.
    -- At a minimum, add some discussion points (similar to what's written in the writing contest) about each of the different Monster Elements. If colors are changing, simply discuss the Elements by name as opposed to color.
    -- I loved the idea of how some Elements have "debuffs" over other Elements. Discuss that in a few compelling statements on the page..

    • Include a single example of the Earth Element Monsters, possibly left aligned on the page, with the following (example) text placed to the right of the image: "Earth Element monsters enjoy a slight advantage when fighting against Water Element monsters. Their natural consistency provides them with the ability to absorb a portion of the damage expelled by water elementals." ... and follow this with the other elements as well.
    • The specific wording isn't as important as the fact that you're showing foresight and thought around how the game will be played. Also, the wording can change over time as it becomes more polished.

  2. This next suggestion will actually probably take a bit of coding, so it won't necessarily be a "quick hit", but I think there is value in it..
    -- Allow users to sort their monsters by Level (High-to-Low, Low-to-High)
    -- Allow users to sort their monsters by # of Monsters (ability to combine)

  3. I'm assuming that Rarity goes along with the Story-Line aspect?
    -- If there are only so many of these monsters/summoners because over the years since the Splintering they have either been hunted down or fallen on hard times (hmm, this could be a unique way to provide added excitement into their stories!)


Below is my list of collected monsters so-far... There are many more for me to collect, and I'm hoping to collect quite a few more as soon as I earn enough funds to continue investing in this exciting opportunity!

Until then, I'll be waiting anxiously for the campaigns and tournaments to begin! I hope that there is a place for the "newbs" like me to be able to earn more cards through campaigns and compete against similarly "weak" players / cards.

Similar to the way that anyone can grow on the Steem blockchain with enough grit and perseverance, I hope that @steemmonsters provides those who are unable to spend absurd amounts of Steem/SBD on monsters to still be able to grow / earn XP / find new cards / eventually compete with the "investors" who buy-in at the more advanced levels and purchase enough packs to earn the "gold" (purple?) cards.

I'm excited to watch the growth of this project!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71