Feral spirit

PshecE4.jpg
So, I seen the amazing writing contest this week for this awesome card and just had to join in!
You can enter here @:https://steemit.com/contest/@steemmonsters/steem-monsters-common-card-fantasy-story-contest-week-4

https://steemit.com/contest/@steemmonsters/steem-monsters-common-card-fantasy-story-contest-week-4

flavor text- Feral spirit is a mysterious vengeful cat that walks the line between life and death. It vows to protect the innocents and destroy the evil that dwells within the souls of the wicked.

Once apon a quiet night, a frail little sack of fur and bones was dumped at an infamous professors door. That worthless little odd colored thing was me, a kitten who was never wanted, a kitten who had to use all nine lives and yet still lived. I was left there with only the reminder of how cruel humans can be and the name "freak". It was then that the large door slowly opened, pouring out light that made me wish I had the strength to flee. For I was a smart kitten who had heard tales of what happens here at night.

Just as I had accepted the cruel fate that awaited me, I was wrapped in a warm blanket and carried inside by large scarred hands. It was those same scarred hands that showed me what kindness and love felt like for the first time. Those hands that gave me the best moments of my short life. I came to love those hands and the creature attatched to them, their gentle pats became my purpose for living.

We were in the library tower the night it happened, reading arcane books of unknown origin. The professors collection was quite extensive and focused heavily on the line between life and death and how it may be broken. I was the first to notice the scent of fire and the many small gleaming lights in the distance. I tried to tell master to run, for I knew the darkness that lies within the humans. To my dismay all that my tiny cat mouth could form was a shrill hiss of fear. To which the master tried to console me not seeing the lights inching closer and closer with great speed.

By the time he realised, it was too late.. The tower was engulfed in flames and the loud cackling of the humans who had come to hurt us. We climbed to the top of the tower fleeing the flames. I had never seen master so terrified. I jumped from his arms and bit at the flames that dared to scare him so! But master grabbed me, and held me close as he said "good puppy, I love you, it ok, we always be together, nobody hurt you ever again." as the flames engulfed his body.

I looked into his mismatched eyes for what seemed like forever then closed mine. I was afraid to open mine for I knew that when I did I would only see the ashes of our bright pure love. I begged for vengeance and sought out the perpetrators one by one.

That night changed something in me. Like the fire tempers metal I was forged into the tool for my own vengeance. I now walk that line we had read about late at night forever angry at the depravity of the humans.. forever seeking vengeance... forever separated from my master... My name is no longer "freak", it has become "feral spirit" and those who wrong the innocent shall learn to fear it.

Thanks for reading let me know what you think in the comments!

Sort:  

Oh this was thrilling read! Great job!

This is really good idea.i can try to join us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.19
ETH 2613.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67