Gaming Matters - STEEM is getting it's own collectible card game!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians! Just a couple of days ago, I posted an article, looking back at my 5 months on Steemit. Within the article, I talked about why I am bullish on the STEEM network as a whole. One of the reasons, is how flexible STEEM is for apps to be built on top of it. And today, I get to know another exciting project being built on the STEEM network, and it is none other than Steem Monsters!

If you follows dApps news, you should have heard of CryptoKitties, which is a game about collecting and breeding cats. Each cat unique, immutable and indestructible because they live on the Ethereum blockchain. CryptoKitties is essentially a collectible game built on top of Ethereum based on the ERC721 standards.

Today, I read this alpha release announcement by @aggroed on Steem Monsters and I am totally excited for it. Unlike CryptoKitties, which has a rather stale and boring game mechanics, Steem Monsters is going to feature RPG styled elements. Players will be able to win STEEM, SBDs, upvotes, Cards, and Card Packs by sending your Steem Monsters to tournaments! I strongly encourage you to read the alpha release announcement, as it contains more info on the project (which stage they are at now, what is the battle mechanics like, what are their future plans and etc..).

When CryptoKitties was first released, the game was so popular that it clogged up the entire Ethereum network. Though the CryptoKitties-craze had since faded, it brought a lot of media attention to the network and cryptocurrency in general. That is why I am so excited about Steem Monsters, as I think it has the potential to be hugely popular and attract more media attention to this platform.

As a form of support to this project, I have bought the starter kit and 2 additional booster packs. Unfortunately, I didn't get any epic or legendary cards 😔. But here are the rare cards that I got:


This is what you will see when you are opening a booster pack

Thanks for reading! Will you be supporting this project? Will I get a chance to battle with you? 😁 Should I be getting more booster packs? And what are your thoughts on such projects?

GENERIC_banner.gif

Sort:  

Just when I'm writing an article on why I stopped gaming, this has to come out!

You should never have stopped gaming bro. Haha..

I hope this one goes big. Bought my starter pack days ago and is waiting for sbd to increase a little to try the booster pack. Hope I get lucky with what cards I draw.

I am a big fan of games likes this. I love collecting stuffs and showing off my legendary and epic ones. So I think I will be supporting it. Will battle you soon. :)

I already bought 2 boosters but no luck with epic and legendary. Same thing, when SBD or STEEM gets higher, I will probably buy a few more boosters to try my luck. Looking forward to battle you too ;)

I'm bad at games but this looks is sooo interesting haha!☺

Haha.. I think this should be quite easy to play.

Where are the famous characters ... these ones are looking boring.

Haha.. I think they will need to create their own characters to make it original.

I mean from the team of avengers :p

Angle of light! boom!

Awsome! Gonna buy one too

Yes! I think it looks like it is going to be quite fun.

Drop in the Steem Monster's discord here ! bunch of us in there!

Yes I will DEFINITELY be supporting. YES You will almost certainly get a chance to battle with me :D Im super excited about this project and Ive actually just designed a map for the cartography challenge. Come check it out and give me some feedback if you like.....Ive written some lore in to it as well, Id absolutely love to be able to contribute to the creative vision! Ideas are very much welcome :) :) See you on the battlefield!

Cool! Will go check out your post and see you on the battlefield! Haha..

Wow have not heard about that at all! Will it be similar to Hearthstone?

Don't think it will be as sophisticated as Hearthstone. Haha..

Reminds me of playing Duel Masters back in the heydays. Upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59943.96
ETH 2421.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43