Complete Steem Monsters Walkthrough for Non-Gamers + 5 Booster Pack Giveaway!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I have been standing on the sidelines with Steem Monsters and I'm excited to be finally jumping in! I'm not much of a gamer, and so I didn't really think that Steem Monsters would be something I could get excited about. Now that I've actually been playing around with it and learning more - I keep getting more and more excited about it's potential to add value to the Steem blockchain.

This entire video is geared towards people like me. Those that maybe aren't really gamers and have been watching Steem Monsters blow up from the sidelines. In this video, I talk about all the reasons why Steemians should be getting involved in Steem Monsters - even if you aren't planning to play the tournaments.

Topics Covered in This Video


  • Steem Monsters is one of the most impactful things to happen to the Steem blockchain. It has so much potential to attract new users.

  • Steem Monsters helps us address the issue of user retention because it gives people a reason to login everyday and interact on Steemit.

  • Opening booster packs is FUN! You never know what you are going to get. Flipping over each card is super exciting - especially now that they have special effects on the screen if you get a rare, epic or legendary card.

  • Speaking of that - I explain what the terms legendary, epic and rare even mean.

  • It can be a great investment. Even if you aren't planning to play the tournaments - stocking up on booster packs while they are only $2 could be a great idea. Each pack consists of five random cards - some of which might be really valuable. A legendary card just sold for 350 SBD the other day! The demand for cards will only continue to grow.

  • Why you should follow the @steemmonsters account. It's the best way to stay updated on what's happening and they do some pretty big giveaways too.

  • If you are a parent - this could be a really fun thing to do with your kids. They get excited to see what cards are in a booster pack - and all the characters or "monsters" are really interesting too. The kids will love em.

  • Sometimes games like this can be intimidating for non-gamers like me. Often this intimidation comes from fear of the unknown. That's why I do a full screen share tutorial to walk you through each step of the process. From getting onto the Steem Monster site, to buying the starter pack, to explaining the difference between a monster and a summoner.

  • My reaction to the overlook look and feel of the site.

  • I'm doing a Booster pack giveaway! Details below.

5 Booster Pack Giveaway



I'm so excited to pass out 5 booster packs to someone! The rules to enter are super simple. Just drop a comment below with something about Steem Monsters. Here are a couple ideas of things you could do for your entry.

  • Talk about what you are most excited for with the coming launch of Steem Monsters.
  • Ask any questions you still have about the game.
  • Did you decide to give it a try and get your start pack? I'd love to hear!
  • Maybe a picture of you and your kiddos opening a pack together?
  • Which card is your favorite monster?
  • Do you have a friend that you think would love playing Steem Monsters? Maybe let me know if you are going to introduce them to Steemit.

Whatever it is, just comment below with something about Steem Monsters. I'll throw all eligible entries into a hat - and will do a drawing for the winner next week. If you would like to make a separate post talking about it - go for it and drop the link below. A comment on this post is all you need to be entered though.

Join Me for a Live Stream on 6/28 at 5pm PST to Open 20 Booster Packs!



@aggroed was gracious enough to send me over 20 booster packs so that I can do a fun live stream video opening them. He's trying to reach new audiences here on Steemit and I am stoked that he approached me. I'll be doing my live stream on @dlive and will be walking through all 20 packs.

I'd love it if you joined me! I'll be streaming on Thursday, 6/28 at 5pm PST.

Will Steem Monsters Make a Gamer Out of Me?



Woah, let's not get too crazy... but honestly, I've never gotten stoked about a game like this before. I'm having so much fun opening these booster packs. Big thanks to @aggroed and @yabapmatt for bringing such a cool initiative to the platform. Developing a game like this is no small task and you guys are absolutely killing it.

I can't wait to chat with you guys below and I look forward to seeing all your entires.

XO, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif


Sort:  

This is cool....I didn't even know about this. I went and bought a starter pack but it seems that the blockchain is catching up or something. So, I don't have anything in my collection yet.

I am really looking forward to having fun and battling with my friends.

Also I can't wait to read the lore.
BTW
I am also one of the writers for team black.

But I can't wait to see what others write aswell

So cool! There are a lot of awesome things happening right now to help grow and support the Steem Monster community. I think aggroed and yabapmatt are really doing an awesome job of including steemians on the ride.

Finally! Jump into the Monster Party! Still just beginning but so much is happening in this monster world and as you said gamers are the most obsessive group to tackle, bring those guys to steemit!

I did it last week, I am kinda hooked now is the battle between making SBD to be able to get those booster packs in the first place.

Very good walkthrough, glad you covered all the bases on this one!
#OneLoveDTube

hahah i know it's about time I finally got involved! Getting booster packs is kind of addicting now. lol

Glad you did with your following there should be a major boost in the interest.
I am now upto 5 packs, I would use all the SBD I have if I didn't have so many little projects going on! I should be hitting 60 rep soon and I plan do to this very thing a giveaway at that milestone so I will need some SBD still kicking around for that ;)

oooh that's a great idea for celebrating 60 rep! I always think it's really cool when people do something to give back when they are celebrating a milestone. 60 rep will be huge!! You'll be there before you know it. :)

Lol Lol. First of all, thank you for this awesome explanation. I am not a gamer myself, never have been really, I hate anything that has games in it, including sports and physical exercise so you can understand why this wasn't attractive from the word go.

Funny enough though, I have won a couple of this cards. This was first card.
unknown.png

I still have alot to learn like what does it mean to open packs? What's the final end goal? Either way, I am enjoying collecting them in contests, feels like a treasure hunt and that's about all I'm doing in regards to SM. Here's what I've collected so far lol

IMG_20180624_224319.jpg

So awesome that you won your first cards! The phrase opening pacs just refers to when you buy a booster pack. It comes with 5 random cards and you overturn one at a time to see what cards you got. They can range from common to legendary - which is part of the fun. If you are interested in getting a booster pack - they can be purchased on the steemmonsters website. :) I go over that in more detail in the video too.

i heard about steemmonsters on a discord channel but i didn't pay much attention to that then for some reason...... then yesterday i came to know about the art contest of steemmonsters and because i blog about art so i became interested about it...... so i wondered around on the website(there isn't really much) and the blog, also i decided to take part in the art contest, which i did already...... you can visit my blog to check out that digital art.....
then i decided to give it a try and was waiting for a payout so i could buy the starter pack......
and i bought the starter pack and a booster pack......

and i am excited about the tournament to begin...... :)

I'm so excited for this game! Only have 1 legendary can't wait to get more! They are so hard to get. Can't wait to play the tournaments! Those are gonna be so much fun :) Cool giveaway! Good luck to everyone that enters!

Oooh so cool that you have a legendary card already! Thanks for entering the contest too! <3

I am deep into SteemMonsters and I love the concept.

But... the most impactful thing that has ever happened to the Steem Blockchain? WOW that is big. More impactful than DTube?

I think that there are more people consuming video content out there than people consuming card games.... but that is just my perspective.

Great video btw! Its cool to see more and more people jumping in each day.

hahah yeah I got a little excited. I think it has the potential to be one of the most influential things for bringing new users to the platform - but of course that depends on execution on their part.

I think Dtube has the potential to bring even more people to the platform - especially once a few of the main issues such as playability and long term storage get fixed. We're getting there!

I love Dtube so I wanted to make that point 😊😊
Yeah I think that those issues will be fixed sooner than later... Dtube isn´t even 1 year old.

But I totally get your excitement about SteemMonsters. I just can´t wait for September to be able to play the game. There will be tournaments with 1000 SBD in prizes. How cool is that?

Also I bought cards not only with the intention of playing the game, but I also see it as diversifying. I am speculating that some cards could be worth a lot over time... something similar to what happened with ethereum´s CryptoKitties.

Exactly. I don’t know how much I will end up playing - but I do think these cards will become super valuable over time too.

Thanks for stopping by! 😊

I just got a legendary!!!! I got the gold Dragon!!!!!

WOAH!! That’s awesome!!

Thanks for entering my booster pack giveaway too! Who knows... maybe another legendary card waits in one of those packs.

@coruscate
Thank God I found your article by chance. I appreciate your beautiful explanation

Steemmonsters.... she wants to talk about steemmonsters... well sit down meatbag. Akox got plenty of stories to tell.
Steemmonsters is a way of life and a way of making a living, you think this belly fills itself?
It's hard work of hustling, trading, chasing people that tried to run off without paying....
Cleaning the dagger afterwards...
But steemmonsters is putting Akox on the map! All these meatbags wanting more more more, greedy bastards... But as long as they pay... it's fine with me.

wagon2.gif

Well a hustling goblin needs to have a silver tongue to succeed after all.
Thank you meatbag

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34