You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Monsters Tech Talk - Steem Blockchain Integration

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Nicely explained @yabapmatt - when I first saw the Steem Monsters announcement I knew I had to support this project, because as a developer seeing this kind of stuff being built on Steem exciting. And as someone who obsessively collects things (like unique Australian $2 coins) it taps into that "Pokemon" collecting part of my brain.

In my experience always attempting to make everything completely decentralised on the blockchain comes with disadvantages. As you have seemingly have discovered, there are ways to maintain a separate database of data and then write into the blockchain, I guess technically you could call a database + blockchain combination a centralised sidechain.

I've been working on a project for Steem which will use the blockchain to write certain operations into the chain as well as read, but for other inconsequential data, it'll be encrypted in spread out MongoDB instances. The data won't be accessible to anyone other than the user who use their private key to unlock the data. It doesn't give you the ultimate redundancy that a decentralised blockchain does, but the chances of the fallback instances I have in different regions all going down is very unlikely.

You should make these technical deep-dive posts a frequent thing because it's insightful. And as someone who is building applications on the Steem blockchain myself, the shared knowledge helps with things I and others are also building.

Sort:  

Really glad you like it and thank you for your support! I definitely plan to do more "tech talk" posts as the project progresses, but no guarantees on the frequency!

No worries @yabapmatt - while I have you here (and apologies if you already answered this previously) but any plans to open source Steem Monsters? I think you would have a lot of support from the Steem developer community and it could help add new features in the current app/fix existing bugs. I, for one, would love to contribute.

Going open source is definitely something that I like and that I have considered for Steem Monsters but I don't think we're ready to do that quite yet.

Yes please! Look forward to more technical deep dives posts from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74