Steem Monsters - the End of Free Booster Pack Rewards

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

There are a few Steem Monsters cards that have always been in my wishlist, and I had hoped I'd be able to get them in the booster packs from the daily quests. Even on the days I wasn't in the mood to play the game, I insisted on battling until I won enough matches to complete the quests. I wanted to get the packs every day I could to hopefully get the cards I wanted, and also, deep down, there was the feeling that this way of getting free booster packs wouldn't last for long. I just hadn't expected it to come to an end already.

With the start of season 4, Steem Monsters received more gameplay changes, and now instead of rewarding players with booster packs in daily quests and league seasons, the prizes will be new cards that can be obtained exclusively through rewards.

Below is a screenshot of the first two cards I got. A Rusty Android and a Highland Archer:

My first two reward edition cards

Image source: screenshot of my collection page on Peakmonsters.com because for some reason Steemmonsters.com doesn't filter cards by edition and can't show only the cards from the new reward edition.

On one hand, I understand the reasons for this change (outlined in the announcement post) and it's nice to have more cards to add different possibilities to our teams. On the other hand, this is sad news to us who can't splurge on packs. The "free booster packs" period was good while it lasted, and I'm glad that I managed to win packs while I could. But without more new packs, the cards from my wishlist will probably remain there for a long time. Well, I guess it's back to trying my luck at card giveaways then...

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aiyumi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83