Steem Monsters Rare Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 6 // Neb Seni

in #steemmonster5 years ago (edited)


This is my entry to Steem Monster's new fantasy story contest.

It was a lot of fun to create a story with characters from this incredible game, I really enjoyed it.

Through my veins a great power will flow, to call the fiercest beasts, the ones that make the earth rumble, my orders will follow and my enemies will burn.

Flavor text

The screams of the burned ones penetrated my ears.

I woke up startled. I looked around; there was only one dark room. Everything was quite. I had lost count of the times when screams flooded my dreams. Nevertheless, is the fair price I had to pay for the sins of my past.

My true story begins with screams.

They woke us up because we had to leave the village as soon as possible. Imagine how confusing this can be for a twelve year old. All the children in the orphanage followed one of our guardians. I can swear that when we left, I had never felt so much fear. Black smoke eclipsed the night sky; the smell of soot entered my nose, the heat. The whole town was on fire. Everyone ran and screamed. Then it appeared, from the cloud of smoke rising over the buildings, I distinguished the figure of true terror. A black dragon flapped its wings and roared into the night.

We ran in terror. The dragon flew over us spitting fire and knocking down houses. A debris hit me on the head, and everything became dark. For a small fraction of a second, I thought only one thing: "I will die”.

The sunlight was on my face; my eyes were forced to open. I saw bushes and trees, and then I heard some birds singing. A headache originated in my right temple, where the rubble hit me. Again, the smell of soot penetrated my nose and that put me on alert. I got up all of a sudden, being on the bush line, I saw it. At this point, I could see my entire village burned to ashes. Tears streamed from my eyes.

I heard some branches crunching behind me I turned around incredibly quickly. There was a corpulent man of medium age. He wore a brown robe and rusty armor. A gray beard covered his face; over it were eyes tired and full of wisdom. In his left hand, he held some blue berries. At the sight of them, my stomach growled. Nevertheless, my concentration was on this man's face, I knew him. He was a market merchant, and whenever I saw him, I found him watching me.

"I'll make this as simple as I can," he said in a hoarse voice. "You can stay here and see if this town ever rises again. Which I doubt... Or you can come with me."

I did not see any other option. It would be impossible for me to survive on my own.

For the next few months, I wandered through the Splinterlands. It would have been every orphan's dream, but the reality was much bitterer. I did not know much about the man I was accompanying, only that his name was Rorgan, and he was not very kind. He insisted on teaching me how to fight and survive, in his own way. That meant hitting me and leaving me alone in a forest overnight. He insisted on making me strong. I did not refuse the idea; One day, I was hoping to get revenge on the creature that took it from me. That determination allowed me to overcome the pain I felt constantly.

Several times, I thought of abandoning Rorgan. However, in a way, I was grateful to him. He was tough, but he seemed concerned that I might be able to defend myself. Several times, we encountered various creatures.

The next four years passed peacefully, I continued training and traveling. In addition, no matter how many questions I asked who I met, no one had ever heard from the Black Dragon again. Rorgan insisted that I should put aside my resentment and anger, as they were strong and dangerous emotions.

One night, I heard screams again.

We stayed in a small town inn. Rorgan woke me. After so many years of sleeping outdoors, I was able to wake up quickly, ready for anything.

"We must go, boy" he shouted, picking up our things.

I did not have time to ask. The screams outside made it clear to me that we were in danger. When we left, I fixed my gaze on the West of the city to see that several buildings were on fire. A roar made its way through the suffocating smoke. A roar that was engraved in my memories from the first time I heard it. The Black Dragon was here!

I grabbed the spear Rorgan had on his back and ran toward the smoke. Rorgan screamed and ran after me, but in seconds, I left him behind. I was moving very fast... and it felt good. In a few moments, I saw him. His imposing figure rested on some houses as he set fire to a tavern. The fire hindered all the exits, now it was between him and me. I lifted up my spear and threw it. It embedded itself right on his shoulder. The beast roared in rage and immediately nailed its dark eyes to me. I drew the sword I had on my belt and unhooked the shield from my back. The dragon rested its body on the ground, making it rumble and charged towards me, I did the same, shouting in anger. If I were going to die that night, I would do it facing this beast.

Then something happened.

A golden dragon erupted from the flames and lunged at the Black Dragon. I had to step aside so as not to be crushed by the beasts. I watched as the two fought one another. Their ferocity was relentless.

Suddenly, I felt weak, too weak to walk. As I stumbled, my legs failed and I fell unconscious.

"Neb Seni," I heard the darkness name me, out of it came the jaws of the Black Dragon.

I woke up with a jump and a drowned scream in my mouth. I looked around. I found myself on the bank of a river surrounded by a lush forest. Rorgan sat on a large rock, looking at me.

"Stupid, boy" he grunted.

"Those dragons..." was all I could think.

"They disappeared" said Rorgan. "Unless you want to bring them back again" due to my perplexed expression, impatiently added "Does it not seem a coincidence to you that the only two times the Black Dragon has been sighted you were there?

"Are you saying that I brought that monster?" I stood up, defiant and annoyed.

Rorgan took a deep breath, looking much calmer. "Sit down" he mused.

Something made me obey him. In doing so, he touched my forehead with two of his fingers. A purple fog erupted from them and enveloped my head. I was frightened, but for some strange reason I did not run away from it, this energy felt familiar. Then my hands began to emit that same fog, I shouted astonishment.

However, it was not the first time I felt this energy. A kind of energy that could only be emitted by one type of person...

"A summoner" Rorgan ended the sentence as if reading my thoughts. "I know I had that same expression once. As if that weren't enough, you are a very rare breed of summoner, there are few who manage to summon dragons".

He was speechless. My mind would not stop thinking.

"Then I called that golden dragon" I concluded.

Rorgan nodded slightly, "And also to the Black Dragon" and from my look of disbelief he hastened to clarify, "Dragons are not like other creatures, Neb. They can connect with the emotions of their summoners. From an early age, you have carried resentment, frustration and anger in you. These emotions have manifested in the form of the Black Dragon. On the other hand, your courage and your need to do things right, allowed you to call last night's golden dragon. You are not strong enough yet, however, now we can begin real training. It is the reason I have always watched you, I felt it from the moment I saw you, but your power must come naturally. I must admit that over the years I have retained my doubts. Now I can officially be your mentor."

I could only think of one thing. I was responsible for so much destruction, and although I could never forgive myself for the sins I committed, I could remedy them by doing the right thing. If such a great power inhabited within me, then I needed to control it.

"Will I be able to control the Black Dragon?”

It was one of the few times Rorgan smiled.

A collectible trading card game on the Steem blockchain
Steem Monster

Sort:  

Congratulations @niklaus22! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95