The Curious Cat and Dalian China's Public Exercise Equipment

in #steemmeow7 years ago

Who needs a pricey gym membership when the equipment you need is free and right outside your door. What's in your diet?


And the ally cat hunting mice

One of the things I hate to teach to my students, right out of their text books is the topic "What do people in America eat? oh, this will irk you Americans. Thankfully someone like me was teaching them the truth(some of you just shuddered a second time). Chinese kids are taught Fast Food is American food. McDonalds, KFC, Hamburgers and french fries are American staples. I shit you not! At least I can show them photos found on countless Foody blogs, some right off of Steemit, that Americans eat all types of food and that Fast food is just for people too busy and that Americans are busier than they think.

America has a reputation for being a Fat country, meaning it is famous for having so many people over weight. China officially, according to UN statistics, is in second place. But walking around here you would never know it. It's been a decade, at least, since I've been to USA, I used to go often.

So here is China's secret to health for those who are lazy or choosing to be frugal beyond what is healthy.


I call this the Wax On, Wax Off machine. You basically wax on and wax off using the steering wheels. If you don't get the reference tsk tsk.

There are many overweight people here but Walmart in China has yet to offer scooters for the incredibly obese meaning that the the Chinese are not so fat that it could hurt the profits of the Fat cats profits should they need to walk around your shop.


This is what I call the Floating on Air machine. I actually like this one. It's like skiing on air. Extra fun while drunk.

With that said. Maybe these public use exercise equipment are a significant factor or that the kids must do 40 minutes of actual exercise each day as a prerequisite to get into university. (yes, even if you're a math genius, a real Sheldon Cooper, you need to pass the fitness test which most Western kids would fail horribly, to get in to any Chinese uni.)


The "Tug of War". Here you simply spin the wheel but if you're with a friend they can battle from the opposite side. Who is stronger? I've won more than lost and I won to someone I expected to lose to.

So let me explain how to use them and where to find them.
They are often found near residential buildings in the public spaces. Near bus stops and outside places where people congregate like small parks and squares.


This one is not all that strength orientated. It's mostly used for stretching legs or doing really lazy push ups.


I have yet to nick name this one. It functions a lot like a brutal, kill your back, row boat machine. The same muscles are used but I expect this one to be more painstaking when compared. they just get rusty and don't operate as smoothly as the good ol' indoor variants.

This one is also interesting I call it "The Twister". You just stand on the rotating foot base and hold the rail and twist your waist. Neat stuff eh?

If I didn't have to be on my feet 6 hours a day, over an hour is spent going up and down stairs I would without a doubt be much bigger than I am now, which isn't big. I lost my belly since before Christmas probably because I stopped eating so much chocolate while in bed falling asleep. My students even noticed and I wasn't even trying to quit chocolate in bed, I just stopped craving it.

Well, that's another day in the life of a Canadian past his 5th year in China.

Want to try something new? Need a job. China is like America back in the 50's when it comes to job options and cost of living. It's something different and fun, promise.

FTWK (For Those Who Know)
Leave Comment and get the usual treatment, Score.

Sort:  

If my history memory isn't wrong. I believe that that encouragement to exercise from the government is something that was passed down from not-so-long-ago when China was still Communist China. Something to do with the writings in "Das Kapital" about being fat is capitalist I guess???

But then when something works, it works. I just wish my government will make more parks. (We have about 10 mega malls coming up across Malaysia, 0 parks, what a bummer).

Maybe it is really high time for me to try my luck in China. After all, I speak the language albeit with a heavy Malaysian-Chinese accent.

It's funny isn't it, my ancestors escape China in search of opportunities almost 200 years ago. But now I'm flirting with the idea of going back to China... In search of opportunities.

Seriously. Many Chines people left here at some point and many are returning for a better life. Who would have thought 20 years ago people would come here for money and opportunity. Don't worry about the language many Chinese speak English.

What type of job would you want?

Well, I'm just exploring options to be honest. As I feel that my only edge is being able to speak in English (oddly enough, English happens to be my first language, although I can still speak comfortably I in Mandarin). I have experience teaching English to primary students (7-12 years old), and is currently under an internship as a drone pilot (exciting stuff!!)

Ultimately, I'm trying develope my writing and coding skills. THANK HEAVENS FOR STEEM!! So yea, just seeking opportunities while creating my own.

Drone Pilot would be so fun. Speaking Chinese is not a required to teach English, they usually prefer you don't. lol Do share some drone pilot stories when you got em.

Thanks for the idea!!! Oooooo i actually do have one already. I'll get to writing and digging up pictures. haha

By the way are you teaching in a private or government school?

This is quite common in Singapore too. in fact, i have one downstairs near the children playground. you know there have incidents of people using playground to dry their laundry. i kid you not.

haha. I see people here using it for the same reasons. not everywhere but sometimes I see that.

haha... heaven forbids that we do it in more playgrounds. Otherwise, we need lots of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80