Surthrival Trailer Mark 1 Documentation #1 Building the Side Solar Panel Frame

in #steemmakers6 years ago (edited)

I started this build with a sketch of how I would assemble the frame to attach the solar panels to the trailer. I deviated from this sketch to only have a support in the center of the frame to save on weight.

The frame was built from 1"x1"x .063" steel square tube and 1"x1"x.125" angle. The total length of the frame is 13'2" and the width is 3'3&3/4". I bought my steel (qty) 5 square tube and (qty) 3 angle as 20' "sticks" and asked them to cut all of them to 13'5".

IMG_0822.JPG

This frame has the following cut list:

qty (2) 13'5" 1"x1"x.063" steel square tube cut at 13'2"
qty (1) 6'7" 1"x1"x.063" steel square tube cut at 3'1&3/4"
qty (1) 6'7" 1"x1"x.125" angle steel cut to 3'1&3/4"

IMG_0848.JPG

I cut the steel with this 14" Rigid Metal Cut off saw.

IMG_0847.JPG

I set the frame down on some 1/2 plywood pallets that I will use for my welding table to check the layout. The 1"x1"x.125" angle was set back to back in the center of the frame @ 6'6".

IMG_0849.JPG

After my first cuts I double checked my measurements by laying over my panels and had to adjust my cuts.

IMG_0853.JPG

Using a 220V stick welder and 6011 welding electrodes, I welded the frame in a jig on the welding platform. Using 3/4" plywood blocks the frame was squared by measuring from corner to corner to check its square. The the blocks were screwed in around the frame to hold in place while welding. The amperage was adjusted to around 80 amps to keep from blowing through the thin square tube.

Weldinginaction.jpg

The final frame was matched up to the solar panels. The welds were sprayed with simple green to clean the flux/carbon which will help keep the strength of the weld.

framefinished.jpg

Thank you and stay tuned for the next build! @makinstuff

Sort:  

You should get someone to take a picture of you using the cut off saw on that crate full of explosives. Extra credit if you have stick of dynamite in your teeth like a cigar.

Haha that would be pretty BA!

Congratulations @surthrival! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74