Mentorship Channel for Artists……..This Week On Steemit……..Steemians Speak- Behind The Username....... SteemMag – Steemit’s Weekend Digest #6 p.2

in #steemmag8 years ago (edited)

Announcement of an Art Mentorship Club on Steemit.Chat


I would like to propose an art mentorship here on Steemit. It would be wonderful to offer help in areas to up and coming artists are struggling with their technique or skills.

We can upload concept sketches and works in progress for peer review and support. If a project isn't working, we can be a sounding board for ideas and solutions.

For example: Need help with perspective? Check. Drawing faces, ears, hands? Check. How to draw animals? Check. Best art supplies to consider for a particular idea? Check. Paint questions? Of course.
Anything art related from technique to resources on where to find a particular tool or gadget. We each have valuable contributions to share with fellow artists. Why not learn from each other?
-@fairytalelife

(P.S If you’re interested in being part of this channel, please send a message to @fairytalelife on Steemit.chat and you would be added asap)


Steemians Speak:

Behind The Name – Behind The Usernames We See On Steemit

I was going through the general channel on Steemit.chat when I noticed some usernames. It occurred to me that it would be interesting to know why a couple of Steemians chose their usernames.

@liberosist

liberosis
n. the desire to care less about things—to loosen your grip on your life, to stop glancing behind you every few steps, afraid that someone will snatch it from you before you reach the end zone—rather to hold your life loosely and playfully, like a volleyball, keeping it in the air, with only quick fleeting interventions, bouncing freely in the hands of trusted friends, always in play.

It's a very obscure word

@thecryptofiend
The crypto part comes from cryptocurrencies which I've really been into since 2013. Strictly speaking the route word "crypto" means hidden. So it can refer both to cryptocurrencies and being hidden. The fiend part can mean both an enthusiast or demon (in the old sense) - so it can mean hidden enthusiast/demon or cryptocurrency enthusiast/demon.
I like the multiple meanings and I thought it was a good description of me as an enthusiast of all things crypto related. I'm also a big horror movie and horror story fan so the demon angle appealed to me because of that.

@furion
The origins stem from summer of 2012. I had just sold my online business, and had plenty of time to waste. It sure wasn't going to be beach with friends - I get enough vitamin D from exposure to my 3x 24" 300nits LCD displays. It was going to be DotA 2. Early beta was just announced that summer, and I got myself a private access key. BIG MISTAKE. I was hooked. Long story short, Furion is a DotA character, one of my early favorites.

@happyphoenix
Actually, I wanted to use username = Phoenix but it was not available, so I chose happyphoenix
I love phoenix... It is the symbol for eternal life. It is also signifies eternal spirit, so when you’re down, you should not give up, you must rise up like phoenix.
Check out the story here

@inertia
It's a property of matter. :) The name implies that I'm standing still. But it also implies a constant velocity in a straight line.
Just plugging away, I guess. "Inertia is a property of matter." - Bill Nye

@instructor2121
I chose my name because of my past profession as a Cisco, Microsoft, and Novell Instructor. Also, taught college courses in Networking Technologies.

@the-alien
I picked the title because I am creating a TV show about an alien that comes to our planet and starts picking at all the small stupid things that we humans do, or that we do backwards... And we humans laugh at him because he doesn't do things the same way we do.
It's a comedy. That's why I chose the nickname, because I've spent months writing it and I thought that was fitting


Would love to hear from you? Why did you choose yours?


This Week On Steemit


A lot of interesting events happened this week. And in case you missed them, we’ve got your back. Here are some of the most important events that happened on Steemit this week.

~ Steem gains a position and it’s currently 4th on the coinmarketcap.com’s crypto market capitalization list.

~ A new hardfork reverted the life cycle of posts from 12 hours to 24 hours.

~ More mainstream media sites cover Steemit with Business.com and Vice Motherboard being the latest additions.

~ Firstblood.io, a platform that lets eSports players challenge each other in the field and win rewards announces its
whitepaper and its plans to accept Steem.

~ Shapeshift and Bitwala has added Steem to their exchange platforms.

~eSteem, Mobile app available for Android and iOS devices was released by @good-karma

~ Steem achieves a recent high on 17-08-2916 at $1.70

~ Meanwhile, SBD maintains a relatively stable exchange rate of 1 SD = 0.8 -0.92

~@roelandp releases RadioSteem, a consensus based radio

~This add to the growing collection of dedicated steem apps. For a comprehensive list check out SteemTools.com

~ Account creations reached a new high in weeks on 2016-08-14 with 2527 new accounts created.

~ @dantheman proposes a number of reforms for the SteemDollars.


I would like to say a big thank you to all those who made this weekend’s edition possible with their contributions.
P.S If you’ve got any suggestions, please make a comment using the reply box below or send a message to me on steemit.chat @infovore.

Ooh. And don’t forget to follow my blog.

You’re awesome.

--> Page 1

Sort:  

I chose my username bitcoiner because I'm a bitcoiner. Haha

ha! Thanks for making a reply. I guess we all are. Steemit has introduced a lot of us to the world of cryptos.

May the artists unite

Nice posting, and thank you , for mentioned my username on your posting... Keep going on :)

@infovore, thanks for posting this. I am excited to do this!

Yeah. Thanks for volunteering your time to make the "art tag" more awesome. You rock ;)

I'm loving these issues :)

Issue of magazine, not issues as in problems ;)

Hahaha. Thanks man.

Fantastic - I look forward to every issue and I love the concentration on artists in this one.

I use to just read it and now I am in it:) Aplogies but I just had to scroll forward and see the mention lol! I will read the articles properly when I get back from the gym.

Thanks for all your work - looking forward to the next one.

Sure! Thanks for taking the time to gimme a reply. I hope you enjoy it. If you've got any idea or suggestions, pls hit me on slack.

Fantastic and interesting post. Followed ;)

I see that you have had very good writing. I like the way in which develop the topic, congratulations!

I'm putting up my own money to support comedians on steemit. I'm holding a competition under the #tih1.

I could use some more exposure.

This is a brilliant idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43