A Chat With The Dev Behind AutoSteem…….. Steemians Speak - Your Favourite Steem Tool....... This Week On Steemit…….. SteemMag – Steemit’s Weekend Digest #26 p.2

in #steemmag7 years ago (edited)

A Chat With @unipsycho

SteemMag: What inspired you to create AutoSteem? and how did you feel being at the top of the trending the day you made a post about it?

@unipsycho:
I was inspired because I love the concept and plan of steemit as a platform and in a way, social currency or social reputation on the block chain. I think there is tremendous value in that and since I've blogged for many years, I loved the idea of seeing immediate rewards for writing content as well.

However, as I used steemit, I really saw a need for some automation tools, like automated voting that is EASY to setup and use, but still very powerful, as well as engaging more with the stories, specifically with photographs. I wanted to view photos with every post and have photo galleries as well, so there were the things that inspired me to build AutoSteem. It started pretty tiny actually, but I wanted to make a UI for my voting bot and soon enough, I had begun the full AutoSteem application!

Hitting the top of trending was a thrill for sure! I knew it could do well, and my previous tool, SteemWriter also earned well when I released it, but yes, the immediate uptake, support, comments and earnings from releasing AutoSteem was a great bonus and validation that the tool was going to be enjoyed by many, which it certainly has and I hope is just the start.



SM: Whats your impression on the steem developer community? and how has the reception to your tool been so far?

@unipsycho:

I think the dev community is great and I had some interesting and helpful conversations with some of the core devs, including help from @fabien and even @ned talked to me on steemit chat about Autosteem, and invited me into the steemit slack channel. I'm been too busy working on AutoSteem to spend much time in there yet, but its a very open community, although fairly small yet. The dev community in many platforms, wesites and systems often drives the growth, so I'm happy to be a part of that for Steemit!


https://autosteem.learnthis.ca

Reception of AutoSteem has been really great! I've had lots of great conversations with people, hundreds of new followers from it, and so many people have helped with suggestions, positive feedback and of course some bug reports too. Its been excellent to read about AutoSteem from others and to see it helping a lot of other people browse great content and autovote to improve their curation rewards.


SM: What's your favorite steem tool made by another developer?

@unipsycho:
Well, there are quite a few actually, the ones I use the most are Steemd, Steemdb and SteemWhales but those are fairly popular already so may not be new to anyone. I've quite interested in the new SteemData 2.0 as well, as thee are MANY tools I can think of to add to or Augment AutoSteem with full historical access to the block chain content. I think the new things coming with SteemConnect and Busy.org are also just excellent. All these tools and support in the platform will help grow
more interest from new users and keep those at Steemit, engaged for longer as well.



SM: What should steemians expect from you in the future?

@unipsycho:
Well, I'm sure AutoSteem will continue to gain new features, I've had significant updates every week or two adding quite a bit of functionality and its finally meeting all the things I set out to build when I really got going on the application. I've been thinking a lot about how Autosteem might automatically seek out and increase followers, and of course things like commenting and posting I may get to as well.

For now however, I'm enjoying improved curation, many new followers and I want to get back to more posting of my many photography sets from the awesome adventure archives I keep expanding and have made myself over the years. That's why I joined steemit and its still the best part, posting and interacting with other great photographers, adventure seekers and to discuss and share so many other common interests.


Thanks so much having a chat with SteemMag. We had the chat a couple of weeks ago and you were so cool about it. It’s a perfect fit for today’s feature. You rock!




Steemians Talk- What's your favorite Steem tool and why?

@gandalf:
Not an easy question! 🙂
There are a lot of great tools around like streemian.com or good old steemd.com.
If I have to choose one it would be steemdb.com, provides simple, nice and intuitive way to get info I need.

Honorable mention: steemit.chat ... it is not really Steem powered as it does not interact with the Steem blockchain at all, but servers great role for communication.
Without it we would not have this conversation, right? 🙂

@araki:
My favorite steem tool is busy.org, because it show me in details how my blog evaluated by other.

@jaki01
Hi, so far I still consider steemit as a pure hobby to practice writing about (in my opinion) interesting things. That means I am not using any autovoting tool, no bots no other interface, no nothing.

To be honest I did only use one single tool at all that means it is the most useful tool for me 🙂 : eSteem for Android (I also used esteem for Linux as well). To give another reason than that it's the only one I can say of course it can be very useful to check ones steemit account even if one is not at home. Nice thing, eSteem still has some little bugs but it is getting better and better and I like it! 🙂



A lot of interesting events happened this week. And in case you missed them, we’ve got your back. Here are some of the most important events that happened on Steemit this week.

~ Steem makes a gain from last week's position to 11th on the coinmarketcap.com’s crypto market capitalization list.
~ @esteem8 creates organizational website.

~ @good-karma releases updates to eSteem.
~ For a comprehensive list of dedicated Steem blockchain apps. Check out SteemTools.com

~ Meanwhile, SBD rates ranged from 1 SD = $ 0.98 - 1.02 this week
~$0.097 and $0.13 were the lowest and highest value traded this week for a unit of Steem respectively.


Page 1

Sort:  

I think you should add more tags, like #steem and #steemdev

Thanks. Just did that.. So is there any feature/steemian you would like to see on SteemMag?

Thanks for sharing tips from the pros with us! ;) Good job again, namaste :)

Nice to hear from you again, man. I'm glad you enjoyed the interviews.

Good job, everybody support unipsycho!

Haha! he's really a nice guy!

What the hell is wrong with steemit I upload a post get 40 likes and no views. Hot post do not seem to have comments. Do people just like everything without watching it???

There are a lot more writers than readers on steemit because it's still tiny compared to reddit and people come here to make money in the first place. If you want views you need followers, users usually only read what's in their feed. The 40 likes you received are bots. It works like any other site, when you post a video on youtube with a brand new account you will usually get no more than a couple views but there is a slim chance that your content gets viral, same here on steemit.

hopefully it will work one day ;) And can you explain me what is the story with the bots? Why people can use them here?? I tried to make some jurnalism here but no response at all https://steemit.com/travel/@spatowt/a-day-out-in-blarney-castle-cork-ireland-with-video-review

Thanks for making things a bit easy for @spatowt. Thanks for dropping by too... Would like to read more of your posts too.

Hey man! Maybe you should refine you strategy a bit. Add a few words explaining the video you link you posted. Connect with other steemians, follow them and have them interact with your content too.

Thanks for dropping by. Appreciate!

I am still learning so much here, so many things to read, but I am getting more and more excited so far! Thanks so much for the great post!

With time you will get the whole feels of the site. I see you just joined the site. It takes time but you will be fine.

Awesome work as always. I have only recently come across Autosteem so need to check it out myself.

Thanks @thecryptofiend. Thanks for dropping by. How are you doing btw, mate?

I'm doing good busy as always. Hope you are well?

How do steem apps work? Is steem based on the ETHEREUM blockchain? Or a totally separate entity? Thanks. Also, how do I add and use a steem app?

Steemit is built on the STEEM blockchain and steem (and SBD) are the blockchain tokens. Steemit and other tools you can find at steemtools.com are apps built on top of the steem blockchain giving you different views and ways to interact with the steem blockchain.

Hey @infovore.

Our digital media company, @thirsty, will be having its' crowd sale this week. The reason this matters to Steemians is because it helps us raise funds for Streams (A music app for the Steem blockchain). I was wondering if you'd be interested in an AMA with myself. I'm always keen to get involved.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66