the joke that saved my life contd. ..again!

in #steemlife7 years ago


They say that when you enter Alaska, there is a time that you will be hit by the wide open beauty of the spaces within that glorious final frontier. This was exactly that time for me!

The release of fear, the embrace of salvation.

And what a feeling it was!

I just love telling this story, being a storyteller. But I don't want to stop just at this point. Given it is the story of my life, and it continues. But the rewards poured forwards in outward expressions

Once I had finished my lunch, I headed back up to the highway and walked out of the little dell I was in. I saw a school, so I decided to check for a free wifi signal to check some of the couchsurfing requests I'd sent out.

I was standing out there in the middle of the side of the road, trying to avoid the glare when I heard a voice.

"Hey what are you doing?!" it called to me.

"I'm trying to get some wifi!" I replied, still fighting with the suns glare.

"Well...are you hitch hiking!?!" the voice called back to me.

So I turned to look, and it was one man from the passenger seat standing there with the door open. "Well yeah! I'm hitch hiking! Let's go!"

I hopped in that ride, and it turns out the two guys were retired doctors on a sabattical from work. Finding a better way in life, much to the same degree that I had been doing with myself. We stopped at many places, took many pictures, and had ourselves a good time.

By the time we got to Homer, I knew that I could have likely found ten different rides back and forth from where we had started but I was happy to be riding with these guys. They wanted to stop in and get a room at a hotel. They insisted that I would not pay for a thing, and gave me a bed of my own to stay in. We spent a few days staying together. They'd bring me food, we'd do things together. Go walk the beach and whatnot. But as it goes on the road, the time together had drawn to a close eventually.

They ended up dropping me off at one of my couch surfing hosts, and I ended up staying with Darren for some time afterwards. He was also a nice guy. But I'll not get into that now.

That's a different story for another day!

But oh my, I love Alaska!

Once I finished my lunch

Sort:  

good writing . also I wonder are there many eagles in alaska?

Story of my life, friend! There are so many bald eagles out there! Every day on my way to work I would see at least 20. Sometimes all sitting next to each other on a log along the beach. Never have I seen so many bald eagles! What a blessing!

very interesting and good story. also thanks for visiting my profile.

Of course! Always happy to share around my 2 cents! haha!

mine is 1 cent:) we are happy although our poverty.)

Your awesome my dude! Thank you for your support! Muchly appreciate! I also love me life! Best life I ever had!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58476.88
ETH 2522.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34