One man's trash.. is my treasure! - My findings #2

in #steemleo5 years ago (edited)

Got some nice finds since I started my new hobby of garbage collecting a couple weeks ago. Just, a quick reminder, I am not actively searching and looting trash bins, just collecting stuff that I happen to see when I pass by one, usually while going or returning from work. I find it quite fun and hopefully make an extra buck or too in the future from all that crap :D

So, let's see my latest findings and what I plan to do with them

1. Some electronics

These didn't come from a trash bin but instead from an abandoned office I happened to visit as part of my work. Nobody planned to use them, so I kindly asked if I could take them for "charity"... LOL. As you can see it's a ram stick, a gpu, a card reader and a flash add-on-thing for phones that.. dont have a flash..

For now I just plan to collect as many electronic stuff I can and once I have a respectable amount I will remove all gold fingers (and play with some chemicals to get the gold out) and sell the rest to a scrap place. Or just sell them directly cause chemicals are dangerous and expensive...Or something like that.. 

Now, before I do that I need to collect a LOT of them because it's just not worth it otherwise. Unless I find a trash bin full of computer electronics, they will stay a long time somewhere collecting dust :)

2. Lamp thingies

Now, I dont know how these things are called so I will call them lamp thingies. I found 4 of them but two of the round lamp things broke while i transfered them with my scooter. I don't have a particular use case for them so I will let @ruth-girl handle them and possibly make a profit out of them.. As you can see by clicking here and here, she has a talent to turn even the shittiest of the things into beautiful decorations for the house.

3. Kid Ebike thingie

And this is something I found today while returning from work. It's an electronic kid bike in super shit condition. @ruth-girl also found this a few days ago:

Now my plan is to take both apart tomorrow, for copper andd shit for a future mega scrap sell. I know, it probably won't be much but guess what? As I said, this is a fun first money later hobby. I just love destroying and taking things apart The few extra bucks from selling the metals (and making a post about it on steemit XD ) is just an added bonus.  

Any other lovers of trash here? How about you @erh.germany? Any recents finds?

Sort:  

Fuck the chair! And your chair collection.
I want to see you ride that bike :D

Ps: chairs are very useful
Pps: maybe don't ride the bike. I don't want you to get hurt

Just celebrate your finds with !BEER

Posted using Partiko Android

I want to see you ride that bike :D
Just celebrate your finds with !BEER

I dont drink and drive!

Why drink and drive when you can smoke and fly?

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.



Hey @bluerobo, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.



Hey @bluerobo, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Almost forgot it! I also found another plastic chair in great condition !
IMG_20190909_191730948.jpg

The chair-ey on top of the cake

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for the free headache.

lol! very creative.

Wow! the bike and the fan!!

I take payments in steem if you are interested too buy these two beautiful pieces!

Good luck :)) The shipping might be a little steep 😁

We could make a killing with these things man. You should be selling your recycled shit on steemit.

i doubt anybody would actually buy them, lol XD

Don't be so sure, if we package them/ refurbish them we could sell them off. Never underestimate the power of marketing

How do you separate all the different metals from all the different components? Or you don't have any process of dismantling stuff? you just brake it all apart and that's it?

Well, a hammer and a screwdriver will for now. My main loot from the bike and the fan will be the copper which is usually easy to remove with simple tools.

Later when I start playing with the computer electronics I might use some nitric acid and other stuff to get the gold out. But I need to do some math first to see if its worth the money (those chemicals are expensive!) and the dangers (these chemicals are dangerous!). If not, I will simply sell the electronics directly for scrap, companies pay relatively well for them .

Nice, some of this stuff is more as trash in my opinion.

Hi @trumpman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.131 which ranks you at #983 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 105 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ha! I told you so! Did I actually say that? I mean that it would happen, once you start collecting that you'll get better and find more and more?

Let me think if I recently found something ... hmmm ... I was at the flea market and street festival ...

OF COURSE!!

The dirtbike is unbelievable, I first thought it's a miniature plastic toy. Next time you got to put something of reference next to it.

:D Truly happy for you. And you also put some TLC in this post.

To Collector's Luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97